Triggered actions per round; how many?

Is this correct:

Code:
Every creature gets:
--------------------
- 1 "Immediate Action" ("Reaction" or "Interrupt") per round
- Unlimited "Free Actions" per turn, but only 1 can be an attack
- Any # of "Opportunity Attacks" per round; max of 1 on each creature per round
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Is this correct:

Code:
Every creature gets:
--------------------
- 1 "Immediate Action" ("Reaction" or "Interrupt") per round
- Unlimited "Free Actions" per turn, but only 1 can be an attack
- Any # of "Opportunity Attacks" per round; max of 1 on each creature per round

Almost. The last one should be: "Any number of Opportunity Actions per round; max of 1 on each creature's turn."

So, a creature that gets two turns per round (such as some solos) could potentially provoke two opportunity attacks from a PC in a single round (one on each of its two turns in that round).

But barring something weird like the two-turns-per-round creature, yes, you've got it.
 

Hypothetically speaking, if a wizard standing adjacent to ENEMY_A and ENEMY_B readies a spell triggered on an action taken by ENEMY_B, would ENEMY_A get to take two Opportunity attacks against the wizard?

The Rules Compendium states that readying an action that provokes an Opportunity Attack has two triggers for Opportunity Attacks: one for readying the action and one when the readied action takes place. By the rules, the triggers take place on two separate turns (the wizard and ENEMY_B), so while ENEMY_B would only be able to use an Opportunity Attack when the wizard readied the spell (since you can't make an Opportunity Attack on your own turn), ENEMY_A could use an Opportunity Attack on each of those turns. However, it seems like the wizard would be punished twice by the same enemy for the same action (regardless of how dumb the action may be).

Does ENEMY_A get one or two Opportunity Attacks against the foolish wizard?
 

Is this correct:

Code:
Every creature gets:
--------------------
- 1 "Immediate Action" ("Reaction" or "Interrupt") per round
- Unlimited "Free Actions" per turn, but only 1 can be an attack
- Any # of "Opportunity Attacks" per round; max of 1 on each creature per round
Negative. Online DM already corrected the third point.

As for the second one, you get a "reasonable" amount of free actions at the DM's discretion, but no more than one free-action attack per turn.

Also, there are standard, movement and minor actions, but I'm guessing you know that.

The Rules Compendium states that readying an action that provokes an Opportunity Attack has two triggers for Opportunity Attacks: one for readying the action and one when the readied action takes place. By the rules, the triggers take place on two separate turns (the wizard and ENEMY_B), so while ENEMY_B would only be able to use an Opportunity Attack when the wizard readied the spell (since you can't make an Opportunity Attack on your own turn), ENEMY_A could use an Opportunity Attack on each of those turns.
Correct.
 

Remove ads

Top