Triggered traps and saving throws

tfwoods3

First Post
Hey all

If a player triggers a trap on his turn (his initiative order during his action phase) and the effect hits, would he, or would he not get a saving throw against that effect at the end of his current turn (in the End Turn Phase)? or would he have to wait till the end of his next turn to save?

Looking at the rules in the players handbook it would seem the effect is on him during the action phase, but in his end turn phase he makes saving throws against all effects he has on him. But this seems unfair compared to effects applied during other turns where the player would have to endure the effect at least one round before getting a saving throw.

Example here:

1. The player does his move action and steps on a trapped floor panel triggering a Close Burst 3 Poison gas. This hits him and player2 in the blast area.

2. Damage is applied and player1 is "Immobilized". Player still has a standard action and attacks Enemy 1 (While affected by the trap).

3. End of Turn saving throw time. Does he roll vs immobilized now or not?

4. Player2 is also immobilized but cannot save until his turn, and 'after' his action phase even, enduring the effect through an entire turn. Several enemies could move before him also. Is it fair that Player 1 is already free (if he got to roll already)?
 

log in or register to remove this ad



You roll at the end of the turn. Keep in mind that becoming immobilized could stop player 1's movement short of his target anyway, so his action might well be wasted.
 

It depends on the trap, but yeah, if something assigns a save-ending effect on your own turn you get to save at the end.

This is why ongoing damage isn't really a good idea for a triggered trap unless it's an AoE. Conditions that can immediately muck up a plan, things like weakened, dazed, prone, immobilized, stunned, that sort of thing are what make for effective traps.
 

Remove ads

Top