Trip with natural reach?

mcgeedis

First Post
Can you trip someone from 10 feet away if you have a natural reach of 10? Would this still provoke an attack of opportunity?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

mcgeedis said:
Can you trip someone from 10 feet away if you have a natural reach of 10? Would this still provoke an attack of opportunity?

Yes, and only if you are threatened.

For example, if they have a reach of 5 feet, you are not in a threatened square when you trip them, so you don't provoke an AoO.

If it's an ogre tripping another ogre, though, he'll provoke (assuming the second ogre is armed).

-Hyp.
 


mcgeedis said:
As in, yes you can make a trip only if you are threatened? I can't make a trip if I am not threatened?
No, as in yes, you can make the trip attempt, but the AoO is only if you are threatened.

Hypersmurf answered both questions with one sentence.
 

javcs said:
Hypersmurf answered both questions with one sentence.

After I posted, I gave serious thought to editing it to replace the comma with a semicolon.

Then I decided it was probably clear enough.

I should have known better - I've seen three-page debates over a comma (or lack thereof) before :)

-Hyp.
 

Thanks for the clarification dudes. I was rather certain that you didn't need to be threatened in order to make a trip attempt. But after reading your post, I began to doubt myself.
 

I've always ruled that the creature with natural reach (or even a reach weapon in some cases) does provoke an AoO in that situation - he entered your threatened area with part of his body and performed a provoking action.

So you can take your AoO - you are simply attacking the part of his body which was used to attempt the trip. With reach weapons, I have allowed Sunder/Disarm attempts as an AoO.

Even without the AoO, I'd definitely allow readying an action to attack the natural weapon or reach weapoin as it came in.

This probably isn't "RAW" enough for those who obsess about that sort of thing, but that's what I do. No one has complained yet.
 

Caliban said:
I've always ruled that the creature with natural reach (or even a reach weapon in some cases) does provoke an AoO in that situation - he entered your threatened area with part of his body and performed a provoking action.

So you can take your AoO - you are simply attacking the part of his body which was used to attempt the trip. With reach weapons, I have allowed Sunder/Disarm attempts as an AoO.

Even without the AoO, I'd definitely allow readying an action to attack the natural weapon or reach weapoin as it came in.

This probably isn't "RAW" enough for those who obsess about that sort of thing, but that's what I do. No one has complained yet.
The readying is RAW. But the rest is a houserule.
 


javcs said:
The readying is RAW. But the rest is a houserule.
Where is the readying part RAW? I personally use the readying part (but not the AoO part), but haven't seen where this was RAW (despite making perfect sense to me).
 

Remove ads

Top