Trolls and negative energy

hornedturtle

First Post
So I have a question about how a troll's regeneration interacts with negative energy damage, for example from a inflict spell. As i understand the rules as written this damage should be changed to nonlethal damage. This seems odd to me. Negative energy seems to be more than just an injury. What do you think?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

This should be over in the Rules Forum, but since I'm here anyway...

No. Negative energy acts just any other kind of energy - fire, acid, sonic, etc. It deals damage that, in the troll's case, isn't lethal. Now, if the negative energy drained its levels, then sure, THAT damage would remain.
 


Well, you're certainly free to houserule it as you like. ;)

If you want a specific "negative energy oriented" troll, you can check out the gray troll, a conversion we've done over in the creature catalog. Unfortunately, there's some database error, so no new monsters have made it to the official CC pages since May. But this one is done.
 

Remove ads

Top