two weapon fighters and grapple

00durrin

First Post
i've read that a fighter can't fight with two weapons while grappling (only one and only if it's small) but what happens to the weapons they can't use?

if you grapple a fighter who has a longsword in each hand...does he have to drop one of them? does he take any penalties to his grapple check for holding onto them both (i.e. how do you grapple with both hands full?)
 

log in or register to remove this ad

If the longsword fighter wants to grapple back, he should drop one of his longswords.

But you should note: if he is not employing a light weapon, he cannot attack. So that longsword fighter better be a Large creature to employ his Medium-sized longsword while grappling.

You see, there is an advantage to wielding a Tiny dagger, instead of bringing back that ridiculous Weapon Speed Factor rules. :p
 
Last edited:

so you're saying that in order for him to make a grapple check at all he needs to drop one of his weapons? otherwise he cannot make a grapple check?
 

He can make opposed grapple checks as reactions to his opponent's grapple attacks. But if he wants to make a grapple attack on his turn, he has to have a free hand.

IOW, he'll just be on the defensive, unless he frees his hand or grab a light weapon to attack.
 
Last edited:


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top