unconscious and willing


log in or register to remove this ad

srd said:
Some spells restrict you to willing targets only. Declaring yourself as a willing target is something that can be done at any time (even if you’re flat-footed or it isn’t your turn). Unconscious creatures are automatically considered willing, but a character who is conscious but immobile or helpless (such as one who is bound, cowering, grappling, paralyzed, pinned, or stunned) is not automatically willing.

http://www.d20srd.org/srd/magicOverview/spellDescriptions.htm
 




hazmat said:
Is an unconscious creature considered willing in the rules? If so is there a book/srd reference for this?

An unconscious creature is only considered willing for spells that have the willing target save descriptor (some DMs also allow it for spells that are harmless).

The quoted paragraph is only talking about Willing Target spells.


So, an unconscious creature would not be willing for a harmful spell.

For spells that do not have the willing description, the creature must voluntarily give up his save:

Voluntarily Giving up a Saving Throw: A creature can voluntarily forego a saving throw and willingly accept a spell’s result. Even a character with a special resistance to magic can suppress this quality.

An unconscious creature cannot voluntarily do anything.
 
Last edited:

KD~ (harmless): The spell is usually beneficial, not harmful, but a targeted creature can attempt a saving throw if it desires.
Scharlata said:
As frankthedm said once:

Orc Proverb: "The unconscious are ALWAYS willing." :mad:
Hell yeah! :lol:

It can save lives since when an enemy wants to teleport away, they can take a KO'ed being witth them. If the unconscious were not considered willing, the bad guy would have no choice but to turn them into an object with a CDG before teleporting away with their now dead carcas.

It also helps PCs since a dying ally does not have a way to choose to be willing or unwilling for that dimension door. It also makes sure that he won't have to try to roll a will save on a healing spell.
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top