Undead turning/rebuking Undead--a few questions

Jeph

Explorer
Well, first off, is it possible?

Second off, would they only be able to rebuke/bolster, due to their intimate connection with negative energy?

Thrd off, would they turn themselves? It sounds really stupid, but, seeing as closer undead are affected first, wouldn't they be the first one to be turned?!? And if they did turn themselves, what the heck would happen? Would they run around screaming madly for 10 rounds? Would they just cower? Would the GM just think turning one's self is utterly stupid, and ignore it?

Hey, I mean, what would a cleric 20 lich be if they couldn't turn undead?
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

Undead are creatures powered by negative energy. Turning is an ability powered by postive eneregy. I would think it would be imnpossible or at least require a special prestige lcass for it to happen.
 

By turning, I meant turn/rebuke/bolster/whatever. I'll clarify that in the original post.

So, anyway, could an undead rebuke/bolster? Seems logical . . .
 

Jeph said:
By turning, I meant turn/rebuke/bolster/whatever. I'll clarify that in the original post.

So, anyway, could an undead rebuke/bolster? Seems logical . . .

That seems more likely. The hole topic is not covered in the rules either way as far as I know.
 

Rebuking or Bolstering, sure, no problem. If they had the power before hand or as part of thei new template. Also, they would not turn themselves, as creatures are immune to their own powers.

The question is if negative power can only destroy, and posative can only heal. Or can negative enegry be used to destroy itself as posative energy can cause damage. You are going to have to choose one.

By srtict interpretation of the way 3E handles things, I'd have to say that undead would lose the ability to turn, unless it was say a Ghost of good or nuetral alighnment. Of course they could also handle it like some things and just break or over look the rule. The vampire template says it can only be applied to humaniods, yet in one of the 3E modules there is a vampire Gibbering Mouther.

I don't know of any specific rule one way or another, but I wouldn't have a problem allowing them to turn if they were of the appropriate alighnment, especially if they were nuetral in life.
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top