Unhallowed lair of BBEG

Shin Okada

Explorer
Would you guys please verify if I am understanding the rule correctly?

From SRD,

Unhallow makes a particular site, building, or structure an unholy site. This has three major effects.
First, the site or structure is guarded by a magic circle against good effect.
Second, all turning checks made to turn undead take a –4 penalty, and turning checks to rebuke undead gain a +4 profane bonus. Spell resistance does not apply to this effect. (This provision does not apply to the druid version of the spell.)
Finally, you may choose to fix a single spell effect to the unhallowed site. The spell effect lasts for one year and functions throughout the entire site, regardless of its normal duration and area or effect. You may designate whether the effect applies to all creatures, creatures that share your faith or alignment, or creatures that adhere to another faith or alignment. At the end of the year, the chosen effect lapses, but it can be renewed or replaced simply by casting unhallow again.
Spell effects that may be tied to an unhallowed site include aid, bane, bless, cause fear, darkness, daylight, death ward, deeper darkness, detect magic, detect good, dimensional anchor, discern lies, dispel magic, endure elements, freedom of movement, invisibility purge, protection from energy, remove fear, resist energy, silence, tongues, and zone of truth.
Saving throws and spell resistance might apply to these spells’ effects. (See the individual spell descriptions for details.)
An area can receive only one unhallow spell (and its associated spell effect) at a time.

So, magic circle against good effect will affect on any creatures within area, not only to the creatures defined as the subject of associated spell effect. That means, in a lair protected by Unhallow, even villains cannot effectively use "enchantment (charm) effects and enchantment (compulsion) effects that grant the caster ongoing control over the subject" because they are suppressed. Right? For example, a Vampire villain reside in unhallowed lair cannot use his Domination ability effectively.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Would you guys please verify if I am understanding the rule correctly?

From SRD,



So, magic circle against good effect will affect on any creatures within area, not only to the creatures defined as the subject of associated spell effect. That means, in a lair protected by Unhallow, even villains cannot effectively use "enchantment (charm) effects and enchantment (compulsion) effects that grant the caster ongoing control over the subject" because they are suppressed. Right? For example, a Vampire villain reside in unhallowed lair cannot use his Domination ability effectively.

Right. Which is why, rather than using an Unhallowed area, you use a Desecrated area. Bonuses to undead, no pesky limitation on your own Enchantments.
 

Right. Which is why, rather than using an Unhallowed area, you use a Desecrated area. Bonuses to undead, no pesky limitation on your own Enchantments.

Thanks. So many of the lair of BBEGs in higher level published modules are protected by Unhallow. But many of those modules are also suggesting the use of Charm/Compulsion spells and powers. I guess those are overlooked by authors. Also, some spells such as Symbol of XXX were changed into compulsion effects in 3.5e. So I must be careful when using 3.0e mods.
 

I'd suggest (okay, argue) a different interpretation. The spell creates a "barrier" that blocks these effects. The difference is that this "barrier" is a 40' radius in the case of unhallow rather than 5' for protection from good. Only attempts at possession or control that would cross this barrier are affected. So a vampire could use its gaze attack unimpeded against a target within the barrier with it.
 

Offer them the opportunity to take the Will save - most players will (blindly) choose to resist. As it's a low-level spell, most of them will probably make their saves.

Or you could say that if you are of <Alignment X>, you cannot receive the benefits of a [p]Protection from <Alignment X>[/i].
 

Thanks. So many of the lair of BBEGs in higher level published modules are protected by Unhallow. But many of those modules are also suggesting the use of Charm/Compulsion spells and powers.

Well, it is worth noting that protection from alignment does not protect against all charm/compulsion effects, merely those with an ongoing duration. Thus, while charm monster would not work (at least while the affected PC is "protected" by unhallow), other compulsions such as suggestion, irresistible dance and insanity still will.:)
 

I'd suggest (okay, argue) a different interpretation. The spell creates a "barrier" that blocks these effects. The difference is that this "barrier" is a 40' radius in the case of unhallow rather than 5' for protection from good. Only attempts at possession or control that would cross this barrier are affected. So a vampire could use its gaze attack unimpeded against a target within the barrier with it.
Agreed! Much how I feel casting Pro Evil on someone holding The Evil Artifact does NOTHING to stop the artifact's hold on the victim. It is like closing the door after the monster is already inside the room.
 

I'd suggest (okay, argue) a different interpretation. The spell creates a "barrier" that blocks these effects. The difference is that this "barrier" is a 40' radius in the case of unhallow rather than 5' for protection from good. Only attempts at possession or control that would cross this barrier are affected. So a vampire could use its gaze attack unimpeded against a target within the barrier with it.
Interesting choice, but it's not quite supported by the rules as they're written (of course, I suggested changing the modules, so...).

Unhallow specifies the area is "is guarded by a magic circle against good effect"

Magic Circle Against Good says it functions "like magic circle against evil, except..."

Magic Circle Against Evil says "All creatures within the area gain the effects of a protection from evil spell"

Protection From Evil says "the barrier blocks any attempt to possess the warded creature"

So yeah, there's a barrier that stops it, so I suppose anything inside that barrier would potentially bypass it, but each individual creature inside the Unhallowed area technically has a separate barrier, one foot from them.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top