kjenks
First Post
dnd3dm said:We had some problems with an NPC villian mounted on the back of a gargantuan wyvern, who charged with a lance, at the last game I ran.
First, one player playing a druid/master of many forms tried to grapple the rider (the druid was not airbourne yet). I overrulled the grapple, saying the druid who was a large creature, could not reach the rider. Another player responded by quoting the rule that a rider is considered to be in any square that his mount occupies. But for the life of me, I can't see that rule making sense when a mount is two or more sizes larger than the rider, and the attacker isn't within at least one size category of the mount. If the druid was huge (tall), I might have let him have the grapple. Was this a poor rules call on my part?
You did the right thing for the wrong reason.
In this situation, the large druid could reach the rider. The rider's lance gave him 10 ft. reach. The large/tall druid had 10 ft. reach. Your other player was right; a rider is considered to be in any square that his mount occupies. So the rider could reach 10 ft. from the squares he shares with the wyvern. And your druid could reach the rider.
But your druid can't grapple the rider that easily because he can't complete Step 4 of the grapple. Steps 1-3 should have been no trouble, but Step 4 would require the druid to move into the rider's squares, and those squares were off-limits for the druid because he wasn't mounted up on the wyvern. If your druid did succeed at steps 1-3, either he couldn't complete step 4 or, if you did let him complete step 4, he would have ended his movement in an illegal square and would have been bumped back to the most recent squares he occupied.
dnd3dm said:Second: An arguement broke out that the lance that the rider of the gargantuan wyvern was using was not long enough to be able to reach past the mount's bulk on a charge or in melee.
This one shouldn't be an argument. A reach weapon of the appropriate size doubles your reach. Since you share squares with your mount, you can measure your reach from any corner of the squares you occupy, just like a human on a horse only larger. The downside of using a reach weapon from a mount is that there are many more squares that are considered "adjacent squares" where your reach weapon does not threaten (the "reach donut").
For a medium rider wielding a medium lance on the back of a huge mount, the lance can reach any of the 24 squares that are 10 ft. away (recalling that reach weapons don't follow the 5-10-5 rule, so a reach weapon will threaten the corners, too).
Code:
T T T T T T T
T - - - - - T
T - m m m - T
T - m m m - T
T - m m m - T
T - - - - - T
T T T T T T T
Where 'm' shows the mount's squares, shared by the rider, and 'T' shows the squares that the lance threatens and '-' shows the squares that are adjacent to the mount and rider where the lance does not threaten.