Using a readied action to bypass conditions

Yep, by RAW you can delay long enough to lose your turn.

No, by RAW you can delay until later in the turn. Delay does not allow you to delay passed the end of the turn, nor give up your action.

If you want to have something happen early in the next turn, you need to use a ready action, and using the ready action ends your turn and triggers end-of-turn effects.

There isn't a hole that lets you infinitely avoid making a save unless you decide for some reason that a character's turn just keeps on going and going as long as it takes for the readied action to trigger. That also brings up weird consequences with start-of-turn effects, and there's really no reason to do that.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

No, by RAW you can delay until later in the turn. Delay does not allow you to delay passed the end of the turn, nor give up your action.

If you want to have something happen early in the next turn, you need to use a ready action, and using the ready action ends your turn and triggers end-of-turn effects.

There isn't a hole that lets you infinitely avoid making a save unless you decide for some reason that a character's turn just keeps on going and going as long as it takes for the readied action to trigger. That also brings up weird consequences with start-of-turn effects, and there's really no reason to do that.

If we're talking about the "Delay" action, then I'm just going to quote the Player's Handbook (pg 288):

"Losing a Delayed Turn: If you don't take your delayed turn before your initiative comes up, you lose the delayed turn and your initiative remains where it was."

It sure seems to me you can give up your turn, despite all the weird issues that raises.
 

If we're talking about the "Delay" action, then I'm just going to quote the Player's Handbook (pg 288):

"Losing a Delayed Turn: If you don't take your delayed turn before your initiative comes up, you lose the delayed turn and your initiative remains where it was."

It sure seems to me you can give up your turn, despite all the weird issues that raises.

It also says you can't avoid harmful effects by delaying. Going by the rest of the delay rules I'd say that means you can't intentionally lose your turn, and you must take it at some point during the turn you delayed on.
 

Remove ads

Top