So one of my players came up with a workaround today in a game I am DMing. The PC is an Eldritch Knight 6/Sorcerer 9. He used a staff of fire to fireball a group of Gith soldiers and then wanted to use it to action surge cast a wall of fire to prevent them from closing/damage them if they closed.
I told him Wall of Fire requires a Magic Action, even from a Staff and you can't do that with AS. He changed it up - "ok Action Surge and I ready an action to cast Wall of Fire if any of them move closer to us, that is a ready action not a magic action".
I think this is totally within the rules. I gave him a Heroic Inspiration for figuring the workaround and let him do it.
What do you think?
I told him Wall of Fire requires a Magic Action, even from a Staff and you can't do that with AS. He changed it up - "ok Action Surge and I ready an action to cast Wall of Fire if any of them move closer to us, that is a ready action not a magic action".
I think this is totally within the rules. I gave him a Heroic Inspiration for figuring the workaround and let him do it.
What do you think?