Level Up (A5E) Voidrunner's codex - 'Always Prepared' Maneuver, is this a broken feature?

Winters

Villager
This is my second time writing on ENworld. Also, I am not a native English speaker. Please excuse my lack of proficiency. To make the explanation clearer, I have used [ ] to separate each action.

In Voidrunner's Codex, under Combat Traditions - Mindful Body, there is a “Always Prepared” Combat Maneuver.

For reference, I have included a link to A5e Tools. (Always Prepared | Level Up)

The effect of this manoeuvre is as follows.
‘You take the Ready action as a bonus action.’


The description of Ready is as follows.

Ready
When you take the Ready action, you prepare an action to be used when a certain trigger comes to pass. You first choose a perceivable circumstance that will trigger your reaction. Then you choose an action you will take in response to that trigger (such as making an attack, or using Dash to move your speed). When the trigger occurs, you can use your reaction immediately after, or you can decide to ignore the trigger, wasting your readied action.
Only spells with a casting time of 1 action can be readied. When you take the Ready action to cast a spell, you first cast it normally and then concentrate on the spell to be released when the trigger is met.


Here, I understand the bolded ‘an action’ to mean literally ‘one [Action].’


Generally, [Ready] allows you to use the [Action] you designated through [Reaction] at a conditional moment. It's like using an [Action] from your turn during another turn.

However, if [Ready] is possible as a [Bonus Action], it is equivalent to performing an [Action] during your turn and then receiving one more [Action] through [Bonus Action: Ready]. In other words, [Bonus Action] is exchanged for a conditional [Action].


When combined with [Extra Attack],
1. You can use [Action] to perform an [Attack Action] during your turn,
2. and then declare [Ready]-[Action: Attack Action] using [Bonus Action].

it's not free and somewhat complex, but it's a high-performance feature that can be used like the Action Surge that was removed in A5e. If you think of it as Action Surge, the cost is relatively low.


Am I missing something about [Ready]? Or is this a powerful feature intentionally designed to be used this way?
(I'm not very familiar with the vibe and power of the Voidrunner's Codex. I'm currently trying to use the content of the Voidrunner's Codex alongside the Adventurer's Guide.)

Of course, I know that the timing and conditions for applying [Ready] vary from table to table, but I tend to apply it generously. In this case, the feature feels overly powerful. Warriors could perform more than two [Attack Actions] in a single turn, and casters could cast more than two spells.


A simple combo using this would be:
1. [Extra Attack] allows you to attack with the maximum number of attacks during your turn using [Action].
2. Warriors will attack as much as possible using [Attack Action]. Warriors of level 5 or higher will attack twice.
3. The warrior will use [Always Prepared] to [Ready] [Action - Attack Action] as a [Bonus Action]. The trigger condition for [Ready] is set to occur during “my turn”.
4. Since the [Attack Action] is performed during ‘my turn,’ the Extra Attack effect applies, allowing for the maximum number of attacks again. For a Fighter, this could result in up to 3+3 attacks.

This is quite powerful. If you consider that it can be used not only for attacks but also for other actions, there seems to be no reason to use other Maneuver, especially since it's a 1st degree ability.

Of course, I am aware of potential solutions. For example, clarifying the conditions for Ready or preventing the use of a [Reaction] that was [Ready] during one's own turn. However, I also place importance on RAW.

What are your thoughts on this RAW? I would like to hear your opinions and take them into consideration. If there is anything I have missed, please advise me.

I look forward to your response. Thank you.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

extra attack specifies that it only works on your turn. thus, readied attack actions are only ever one attack, because they are not on your turn.

it is, however, still essentially a free attack, which is still solid.

EDIT: i just saw your "my turn" situation. im not really sure that could happen. you'd need to use an attack action to trigger some perceivble circumstance, essentially, and even then the narrator would probably just rule that no, you can't ready an action to react against yourself, that's silly.
 

extra attack specifies that it only works on your turn. thus, readied attack actions are only ever one attack, because they are not on your turn.

it is, however, still essentially a free attack, which is still solid.

EDIT: i just saw your "my turn" situation. im not really sure that could happen. you'd need to use an attack action to trigger some perceivble circumstance, essentially, and even then the narrator would probably just rule that no, you can't ready an action to react against yourself, that's silly.
Thanks for the answer.

If you make the trigger for [Ready] a condition that is also available on your turn, you can use the [Ready] [Action] on your turn as well.

For example, you could make the trigger "When an enemy enters your attack range, perform [Attack Action]" and move directly to approach the enemy.

I know it's a bit clunky, but I'm just trying to maximize the possibilities. It's just to see what's in the RAW :D
 

For example, you could make the trigger "When an enemy enters your attack range, perform [Attack Action]" and move directly to approach the enemy.
RAW, i don't think that works, since the enemy isn't doing anything - YOU'RE the one who's acting. thus, the enemy isn't entering anything. this is usually how effects like spirit guardians work, anyway (which is also why they specify the effect procs if a creature starts their turn in the area). i guess you could rephrase it to "When an enemy is inside your attack range", but at that point we're basically just white rooming because i can't see a narrator that would let this fly regardless (except, like, maybe a new narrator getting pressured into it, which is...uh...a suboptimal situation, to say the least).

i could see maybe like..."When the chandelier falls, Attack the nearest enemy", and then using one of your regular attacks to cause said chandelier to fall (preferably on said enemy, obviously). i think most narrators would still shoot that in the face and be right to do so, but RAW i think it'd technically work.
 

For example, you could make the trigger "When an enemy enters your attack range, perform [Attack Action]" and move directly to approach the enemy.
In the Adventurer's Guide in the Turn Order section, Reactions are referenced in the "Off Your Turn" subheader rather than the, "On Your Turn" subheader. With that I would rule you wouldn't be able to use a readied Action on your turn since it requires the use of your Reaction to do so, which from my reading is only something you can do off your turn.
 

In the Adventurer's Guide in the Turn Order section, Reactions are referenced in the "Off Your Turn" subheader rather than the, "On Your Turn" subheader. With that I would rule you wouldn't be able to use a readied Action on your turn since it requires the use of your Reaction to do so, which from my reading is only something you can do off your turn.
Thank you for your reply. However, when I looked up the same section, I found the phrase “and one reaction at any time” in the second paragraph of the “On Your Turn” section.

Looking at the wording in the “On Your Turn” section, it seems that you can perform a [Reaction] at any time during your turn, which means that you can also perform a [Ready] [Reaction].

Therefore, I think the phrase in the “Off Your Turn” section means that you can perform a Reaction even when it is not your turn, and it does not mean that Reactions are only possible at that time. But, the section you found was very helpful to me. Thank you.

Please let me know if there is anything else I am missing!
 

Thank you for your reply. However, when I looked up the same section, I found the phrase “and one reaction at any time” in the second paragraph of the “On Your Turn” section.

Looking at the wording in the “On Your Turn” section, it seems that you can perform a [Reaction] at any time during your turn, which means that you can also perform a [Ready] [Reaction].

Therefore, I think the phrase in the “Off Your Turn” section means that you can perform a Reaction even when it is not your turn, and it does not mean that Reactions are only possible at that time. But, the section you found was very helpful to me. Thank you.

Please let me know if there is anything else I am missing!
For me I don't think that's necessarily intended or as written. I interpret the, "anytime" language as being, "anytime off your turn" since it's under the, "Off Your Turn" subheader. This would be up to your Narrator, but I can say pretty confidently I wouldn't allowed a Readied Action to be used on the same turn.
 

In most cases you use your reaction outside your turn but you can still use them during your turn if applicable, but remember that you only recover your reaction at the start of your turn, so you won't have a reaction till your turn next round.

Unfortunately A5E is missing the explicit description that you can use a reaction on your turn but there are quite a few effects that use it (counterspelling a counterspell being one of the classics)

The "On your turn" "Off your turn" are also hints to players on what they could/should do during combat, so you usually don't have to tell a player to keep alert for a readied reaction on their turn (especially since they just did that ready action on their turn) but outside the turn they should have an ear open for situations where their ready triggers.
 

Thank you for your reply. However, when I looked up the same section, I found the phrase “and one reaction at any time” in the second paragraph of the “On Your Turn” section.

Looking at the wording in the “On Your Turn” section, it seems that you can perform a [Reaction] at any time during your turn, which means that you can also perform a [Ready] [Reaction].

Therefore, I think the phrase in the “Off Your Turn” section means that you can perform a Reaction even when it is not your turn, and it does not mean that Reactions are only possible at that time. But, the section you found was very helpful to me. Thank you.

Please let me know if there is anything else I am missing!
This is correct.
 

So lemme posit a thing:

I use the maneuver and a bonus action to ready an action to make an attack as a reaction if I use my attack action against a specific target.

I use my attack action against a specific target. Two melee attacks with a greatsword: Thwack-Thwack.

I use my Reaction to trigger my readied action to make a single attack. Why only one?

Because I'm not taking the attack action. I'm taking a Readied Action to make an Attack.

Subtle difference, but it's present!

Also makes it still a great maneuver to use in Ranged Combat since you can ready an action to attack "That Guy" if you target "This Guy" during your attack action and happen to be wielding a big two-handed weapon.

Or like "If I use the burst fire on these squares I also make a burst fire attack on those squares!" if you have enough ammo. Or twice on the same squares! Extra Attacking with Burst Fire!

But it costs action, bonus, reaction, and exertion, so there's definitely a lot of opportunity cost to it. (Also Ammunition if you're firing a ranged weapon)
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top