VoP vs. Call Weapon

Blightersbane

First Post
The Call Weapon power of the Psychic Warrior summons a temporary weapon of your choosing. The question is does this temp. wep. violate VoP?

Call Weaponry
Psychoportation (Teleportation)
Level: Psychic warrior 1
Display: Material
Manifesting Time: 1 round
Range: 0 ft.
Effect: One weapon; see text
Duration: 1 min./level; see text (D)
Saving Throw: None
Power Resistance: No
Power Points: 1
You call a weapon “from thin air” into your waiting hand (actually, it is a real weapon hailing from another location in space and time). You don’t have to see or know of a weapon to call it—in fact, you can’t call a specific weapon; you just specify the kind. If you call a projectile weapon, it comes with 3d6 nonmagical bolts, arrows, or sling bullets, as appropriate. The weapon is made of ordinary materials as appropriate for its kind. If you relinquish your grip on the weapon you called for 2 or more consecutive rounds, it automatically returns to wherever it originated.
Weapons gained by call weaponry are distinctive due to their astral glimmer. They are considered magic weapons and thus are effective against damage reduction that requires a magic weapon to overcome.
Augment: For every 4 additional power points you spend, this power improves the weapon’s enhancement bonus on attack rolls and damage rolls by 1.



Blightersbane
 

log in or register to remove this ad


The driving concept behind the item restrictions in VoP is primarily couched in terms of wealth - wealth that could be instead given to the poor. I don't think there's any wealth going from the manifester into that weapon, so no.
 

As it is a "real weapon" I'd lean toward saying it violates the VoP. You can't borrow a sword from someone, why can you borrow it from "another location in space and time"?
 

moritheil said:
The driving concept behind the item restrictions in VoP is primarily couched in terms of wealth - wealth that could be instead given to the poor. I don't think there's any wealth going from the manifester into that weapon, so no.

Agreed.

If nothing else, take the Shape Soulmeld feat: Incarnate Weapon. You don't even need essentia to fuel its +s... the VoP does that for you.
 

Da' power said:
(actually, it is a real weapon hailing from another location in space and time)....Weapons gained by call weaponry are distinctive due to their astral glimmer. They are considered magic weapons and thus are effective against damage reduction that requires a magic weapon to overcome.
Using it is a VOP Violation. VOP benefits irrevocably lost.

vopim9.gif


And here is what Atoning can do for a Exalted character, It allows repenting for evil acts, not vow breaking.

vop2sinsv7.gif


ir·rev·o·ca·ble
adj.
Impossible to retract or revoke: an irrevocable decision.

ir·revo·ca·bili·ty, ir·revo·ca·ble·ness n.
ir·revo·ca·bly adv.
 

Thanks for your definition of irevocable, Frank. But I disagree. As you point out ... the vow prohibits ownership or use of any material posession outside of the included exceptions. Yet, I also think that the line is blurred here. Clearly, this is not so much as a posession. The weapon vanishes upon expiration or it being out of your hand for what ... 12 seconds?

I would actually say that this is far less a grievous offense than an unconscious VoP benefitting from an ally pouring the contents of a healing potion down their throat. In the case of the potion, the potion is now gone. It is permanently part of the player and the owner of the potion is out of luck. In the case of the called weapon, the item can neither be sold nor owned. It returns to its original place - no harm done.

I think this is the case where the spirit of the game says it is allowable - yet the rules lawyers do have a position to stand upon in denying it. As a DM, I would let this one go ... especially if the item is nonmagical.
 

Hmmm. By Frank's opinion you could cast "Magic Weapon" on a VoPer and he'd be forced to drop the thing, since it becomes a.... magic weapon. Oils of enchantment would be a freakish way to defeat a VoPer.
 

Nonlethal Force said:
Thanks for your definition of irevocable, Frank. But I disagree. As you point out ... the vow prohibits ownership or use of any material posession outside of the included exceptions. Yet, I also think that the line is blurred here. Clearly, this is not so much as a posession. The weapon vanishes upon expiration or it being out of your hand for what ... 12 seconds?
Use the object and lose the VOP. Just like a VOP character who tries to own or use a spellbook.
I would actually say that this is far less a grievous offense than an unconscious VoP benefitting from an ally pouring the contents of a healing potion down their throat.
The use of potions is covered by the feat.
I think this is the case where the spirit of the game says it is allowable - yet the rules lawyers do have a position to stand upon in denying it. As a DM, I would let this one go ... especially if the item is nonmagical.
The spirit of the VOP is the character has and uses nothing but simple, non masterwork, non magical weapons. They get their enhancements and weapon propeties through their VOP abilities.
 

frankthedm said:
The spirit of the VOP is the character has and uses nothing but simple, non masterwork, non magical weapons. They get their enhancements and weapon propeties through their VOP abilities.

Yep. And at 1 pp the weapon is non-magical. Actually, it is pretty mundane in all respects as the power says. They are considered magic weapons with regard to DR, but unless you spend more powerpoints they don't actually get a magical enhancement. Essentially, they're magical 'cause they teleported to get there.' So they are pretty mundane in all respects except DR.

I see nothing wrong that violates the feat. Is it valuable? Nope. Can't be sold.

Is it a possession? Nope. It only lasts for the duration or until 2 rounds after control is relinquished.
 

Remove ads

Top