Wall of Ice Spell Use....


log in or register to remove this ad

Nail said:
Ah, but "Rules should serve the game!"....or some such nonsense. :lol:

Pssshhht. Maybe in YOUR game. ;)

I had a "should've just kept my mouth shut" moment of rules-lawyering last game...shame on me.

I turned a moment of, "Oh, that's how that should work..." into a, "No, you can't do that..." moment. Tsk Tsk. (And I'm not the DM, by the way...)

But I'm acknowledging the problem...and that's the first step to recovery, right?
 
Last edited:

Fieari said:
More than that, Orcas are only allowed to be summoned in a marine enviornment, which I always thought was stupid.

Especially given that the orca breathes air, and the spell duration will end long before being out of the water causes it a problem.

The one that really annoys me is the octopus. It has a land speed! Why can't I Summon one on land?!

Bizarrely, that actually came up last session. I can't remember why, but I clearly recall saying "An octopus would be perfect, but we can only Summon it in water" when the wizard was trying to decide what to use.

I'm sure there must have been a reason.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
The one that really annoys me is the octopus. It has a land speed! Why can't I Summon one on land?!

Bizarrely, that actually came up last session. I can't remember why, but I clearly recall saying "An octopus would be perfect, but we can only Summon it in water" when the wizard was trying to decide what to use.

I'm sure there must have been a reason.

-Hyp.

HA HA HA HA ha ha ha ha! If I had a nickel for every time I said, "An octopus would be perfect, right about now..."

hehehe...

Too funny.
 

The best part about the octopus is using the Jet ability to move 200' on land. I believe it's possible as per the description of the ability. It's a get out of jail free card for your octopus villains.
 

spunky_mutters said:
The best part about the octopus is using the Jet ability to move 200' on land. I believe it's possible as per the description of the ability. It's a get out of jail free card for your octopus villains.

Don't forget to use the Ink ability first, so they can't see which way you're escaping... :)

-Hyp.
 

“Especially given that the orca breathes air, and the spell duration will end long before being out of the water causes it a problem.”

All true, but even THAT should not be a concern- it is not like summoning spells are generally used to bring the creature for a snack and play. 95% of the time they are put in severe harm’s way. I always find it highly questionable that they are not evil spells. They sure aren’t very “good” to the targets…

The water creatures only in water is a very lame part of summoning, I agree totally.
 


Nail said:
Errr? ...and here I thought Hyp. was being sarcastic. :lol:

Not really. I can understand not being able to summon a creature into a fatal environment. But land is not fatal for an orca - certainly not for ten or twenty rounds! - and octopodes have a land speed!

-Hyp.
 

TracerBullet42 said:
HA HA HA HA ha ha ha ha! If I had a nickel for every time I said, "An octopus would be perfect, right about now..."

hehehe...

Too funny.

now that was seriously the funniest thing I have read on this board yet... :lol: :lol: :lol:
 

Remove ads

Top