Wands? - Anyone use?

That rule is in place in order to allow DMs to add additional spells to both the Wizard and Sorceror repertoires.

As in, "When a sorceror goes up in level, they can pick any of the spells from the PHB. You can also let them 'research' a new spell."
 

log in or register to remove this ad

When the sorcerer level goes up in level, I let him either choose automatically a spell from the wizard list or research another spell. which could be arcane cure light wound, I even saw an example of a sorcerer on the Wotc board that knows Cure light wound, so if the official site as an example I assume it's right. (well... I already saw a character depicted as a great leader with CHA 6, no ranks in any social skills, and not even the leadership feat).
 

Do you remember where that CLW sorcerer was, Darkmaster? Because that's almost certainly either an error, or a character with another source of spells or spell-like abilities. Sorcerers and wizards should never get healing magic, by the rules and by the spirit of the rules.

Daniel
 

I think it was a 18th level old asian type sorcerer, would have to check on their site. I remember being surprised too, but I found the idea interesting.
 



DarkMaster said:
Got one example it was on a Wyrms of the North article in the FR section. I am pretty sure there are others Dragon with cure light wound in their sorcerer list. The dragon in this example can cast cure light and critical wound

http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/wn/20031022a


Ahah! There's your reason. From the description of dragons:

SRD said:
Spells: A dragon knows and casts arcane spells as a sorcerer of the level indicated in its variety description, gaining bonus spells for a high Charisma score. Some dragons can also cast spells from the cleric list or cleric domain lists as arcane spells.

And, specifically, Gold Dragons are one of those types that can cast any spell from the Clerical spell list, as well as the ... Good domain? ... as arcane spells.

The actual rule is:

SRD said:
*Can also cast cleric spells and those from the Law, Luck, and Good domains as arcane spells.
 
Last edited:


@DarkMaster: The quote (last page) is there for one of two reasons. Either it means spells researched by the sorcerer (as per the DMG, which would even allow a cure light wounds, technically, if the DM allows it, though it should be higher level than the cleric's), or spells from sources other than the PHB, since the paragraph before that speaks about spells from the PHB only (of course, there was only the PHB at that time, so that doesn't have to mean much ;)).

Sorcerers are still limited to the sorcerer/wizard spell list.

Bye
Thanee
 

Shadeus said:
I don't have the DMG here with me at work, but I seem to recall some rule about it also being the same type of magic. Like a bard could NOT use a wand of CLW made by a cleric because the bard casts Arcane magic (not Divine). Is that just wrong? Or was it something from 3.0?
That's for scrolls, not wands. A bard could use any wand of cure light wounds, but couldn't use a divine scroll of CLW because he's an arcane caster.
 

Remove ads

Top