Wands? - Anyone use?

SRD said:
Activate the Spell: Activating a scroll requires reading the spell from the scroll. The character must be able to see and read the writing on the scroll. Activating a scroll spell requires no material components or focus.
[snip]
Using a scroll is like casting a spell for purposes of arcane spell failure chance.
To have any chance of activating a scroll spell, the scroll user must meet the following requirements.
The spell must be of the correct type (arcane or divine). Arcane spellcasters (wizards, sorcerers, and bards) can only use scrolls containing arcane spells, and divine spellcasters (clerics, druids, paladins, and rangers) can only use scrolls containing divine spells. (The type of scroll a character creates is also determined by his or her class.)
• The user must have the spell on his or her class list.

Ah-ha! Well, not really ah-ha. More like, oh. I looked under the scroll section of the SRD and found this. It doesn't say anything like this under wands, so is is safe to assume bard's CAN use a wand of cure light wounds created by a cleric?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Per the PHB (I prefer that for specific rules questions because the SRD is too vanilla and leaves off some important color which is not always color - see Skill Focus for instance. The SRD leaves off the "You have a special knack with that skill." Which can change the whole meaning of the feat.) a sorcerer can not choose any spell from the PHB.

"These new spells can be common spells chosen from the sorcerer/wizard spell list, or they can be unusual spells that the sorcerer has gained some understanding of by study. For example, a sorcerer with a scroll or spellbook detailing an unusual sorcerer/wizard spell (one not on the sorcerer/wizard spell list in this book) could select that spell as one of his new spells for attaining a new level, provided that it is of the right spell level."
Etc., etc. Basically if the spell is 'added' so that a sorcerer can learn it then a wizard can also learn it, since it is now on the sorcerer/wizard spell list (by the DM's decision of course).
 

Shadeus said:
Ah-ha! Well, not really ah-ha. More like, oh. I looked under the scroll section of the SRD and found this. It doesn't say anything like this under wands, so is is safe to assume bard's CAN use a wand of cure light wounds created by a cleric?
Absolutely. And along similar lines, a nice cheap wand of resist elements can be made by a Ranger, since that's a 1st level Ranger spell. Minimum caster level would be 2, since a Ranger must be 4th level to cast first level spells; but that's still only 1500 gp retail value, compared to 4500 gp for a cleric or wizard to make that wand (spell level 2, caster level 3 minimum). But any of those casters can still use the wand. (Downside-a single-classed Ranger doesn't qualify for Craft Wand until 12th level. C'est la vie.)
 

Christian said:
(Downside-a single-classed Ranger doesn't qualify for Craft Wand until 12th level. C'est la vie.)

That's why the 4th level Ranger supplies the spell for the 5th level wizard who has the Craft Wand feat...

-Hyp.
 

Anyone Can use wands - So long as they have points in UMD. Or have the spell On thier spell list.

In 3.5 its no longer a rogue/bard only skill - though its cross class to all but Rogue/Bard/Artificer. Anyone who sinks the points in to it can use wands at a flat DC20 < awsome skill btw - always drop points into it on all my characters >
 

Hypersmurf said:
That's why the 4th level Ranger supplies the spell for the 5th level wizard who has the Craft Wand feat...

That shouldn't change the cost, tho, or should it?

I mean with the formulas just being guidelines and all that, I think the cost for a magic item should always be the same, derived from the effect mostly, regardless of which way you get the prerequisites together.

Bye
Thanee
 

All right, here's a wrench in the works.

Hold monster is spell level: Brd 4, Law 6, Sor/Wiz 5. Only a bard could make this wand (or cast into someone else's Craft Wand feat) because only 4th level or lower spells can be placed in wands. Can a sorcerer then use the wand, even though it's a 5th level spell for him?
 

LazarusLong42 said:
All right, here's a wrench in the works.

Hold monster is spell level: Brd 4, Law 6, Sor/Wiz 5. Only a bard could make this wand (or cast into someone else's Craft Wand feat) because only 4th level or lower spells can be placed in wands. Can a sorcerer then use the wand, even though it's a 5th level spell for him?
Absolutely. Although the spell cast from the wand would not penetrate a Globe of Invulnerability. If the sorcerer cast the spell himself, it would. :)
 

Thanee said:
That shouldn't change the cost, tho, or should it?

I mean with the formulas just being guidelines and all that, I think the cost for a magic item should always be the same, derived from the effect mostly, regardless of which way you get the prerequisites together.

So you think a Wand of Continual Flame made by a Cleric (3rd level spell, can counter or dispel Deeper Darkness) should cost the same as a Wand of Continual Flame made by a Wizard (2nd level spell, can't counter or dispel Deeper Darkness)?

-Hyp.
 


Remove ads

Top