Warforged are no longer "Constructs" ... at least temporarily...

Caliban

Rules Monkey
Original Post is here: http://forums.gleemax.com/showthread.php?
t=1141086&page=3

I've updated the (still unofficial) ruling after further discussions
with the big thinkers at WotC.

I'll quote myself here, if it isn't too gauche to do so.


Quote:
Originally Posted by WolfStar76
Sooooo. . . for what it's worth, and to further cloud the issue. . .

I was lucky enough to get into a disucssion on rules interpretations
and discussions with Chris Tulach and Chris Sims. As part of the
discussion I re-visited this issue with them.

Chris Sims agrees that "Living Construct" is a wholly unique keyword
that isn't to be broken down into two separate words ("Living,
Construct"). As such, he agrees that unless/until the definitions of
Living Construct includes wording to make them constructs in regards
to powers/effects they don't get those powers/effects. (IE - no
reparation apparatus).

Chris Tulach mentioned that he and Mike Mearls re-discussed the issue
with the rules in front of them the night before, and they both
agreed (when looking at the rules more closely) that a Living
Construct is, indeed, a separate entity as well.

In short? Mike wasn't fully prepared to answer the question when
I "sprung" it on him - and now appears to be reconsidering his
opinion.

At this point it looks like the general (and yes, still unofficial)
consensus is that Reparition Apparatus (and other "Construct" related
effects) do nothing to a Warforged.

My apologies for further muddying the waters, but hopefully the (now)
unanimous opinion of 3 Rules Update Team members will help further
sway opinions.

(and better still, here's hoping the Rules Update team includes
language to fully silence the issue - IE "living constructs are not
considered constructs, blah blah blah." I suspect, however, they may
not as Chris Sims, at least, seems to be of the opinion that people
shouldn't look for rules/interpratations that aren't there. IE - if
it doesn't define you as a construct, you shouldn't assume you're a
construct.)

__________________
RPGA Forum Senior VCL
DDI Forum News Guide

Looks like Reconstruction Apparatus (from the Artificer Dragon Magazine article) no longer work on Warforged, at least until they change their minds again.
 

log in or register to remove this ad



Out of curiosity, when did the Warforged lose the Construct keyword? I'm looking at Dragon 364 which grants it to them, but the Compendium (which I assume is right) does not grant it to them.

Are they putting out errata for the magazines now? (Please say yes.)
 

Out of curiosity, when did the Warforged lose the Construct keyword? I'm looking at Dragon 364 which grants it to them, but the Compendium (which I assume is right) does not grant it to them.

Are they putting out errata for the magazines now? (Please say yes.)

I don't know if it's the case with this question, but yes WOTC does make corrections to articles between when they are first published as a separate article and when they combine it into a complete issue. So perhaps it changed with the complete issue?
 

WHile they may have updated the issue since I downloaded it, my issue of Dragon 364 says

Dragon 364 said:
Construct: You have the Construct keyword, so you are considered to be a construct for effects that relate to that keyword.
 

That was kinda the point of my original post....

The Dragon Magazine article stated that PC warforged count as Constructs, even though the Warforged in the Monster Manual do not have the Construct keyword, only the Living Construct keyword.

The Rules Compendium was updated, and only refers to warforged as Living Constructs, without a seperate Construct keyword.

So the most recent rules source indicates that warforged are not "Constructs". They are instead "Living Constructs" and are not affected by things that specifically affect Constructs.

It should be noted that the Dragon Magazine article is the only place that refered to them as having the "Construct" keyword, and the Rules Compendium trumps that (according to WOTC's official position on the matter).
 


Remove ads

Top