I still can't see EB working with the SLA feats!
Okay, I'm banging my head against the wall here!
Maybe I need more sleep...
Am I wrong?
Here we go:
Let's assume for the sake of argument that the EB is the warlock's CASTER level. At best, this is as high as he/she/it gets without hinky magic feats/spells/items.
Let's also assume that the EB SPELL level is 1/2 the Warlock's CASTER level.
According to the descriptions for heighten and maximize spell like ability feats, it's
impossible to use an EB or any ability that uses the higher of the two options if EB comes into play (most abilities regarding invocations except some other invocations, right?).
Going to both the heighten and maximize feat descriptions in CA (pages 80 and 81) and looking at the empower chart in the MM (p 304), the spell LEVEL able to be cast empowered [or heightened or maximized in this example which for EB always would be 1/2 the warlock's caster level] MUST be 1/2 the caster level-2 So, if you had a "caster level" of 6 (the minimum prereq for these feats), the "highest" spell level you could heighten/maximize would be 1 (6/2-2=1)!
So, it's IMPOSSIBLE to EVER use EB, or any invocation with it that uses the "higher" of two choices (which I think is all except for a few "other invocations" that can be heightened or maximized not using EB like the chilling tentacles which you could take at level 14 as a 5'th level spell).
So, if I listen carefully (after reading the description about maximize spell like ability using the maximized eldrich blast in CA, page 81, third sentence under benefits), I can hear the publishers toking the stuff they must have been using when they wrote this?
PLEASE somebody show me I'm wrong! I'd love nothing more than to use maximized EB 3 times a day!
I AM,
--the truthseeker
Khaalis said:
Ok, since I apparently misspoke in my earlier post, and others have followed suit...
On Warlock Levels:
Under EB
"An EB is the equivalent of a spell whose level is equal to one-half the warlock's class level (round down), with a minimum spell level of 1st and a maximum of 9th"
Under Invocations
"A warlock's caster level with his invocations is equal to his warlock level."
Now technically, the only time Caster Level even matters for EB is against SR, when a caster level check is required. Under EB it states...
"An EB is subject to SR, although the Spell Penetration feat and other effects that improve caster level checks to overcome SR also apply to EB."
However, they never specifically state the Caster Level of the EB. We can ASSUME it is the same as their invocations, even though they specifically state that EB is NOT an invocation.
Reference: p.8, 2nd colum under 'Warlock Invocations' - "Invocations and EB: EB is not an invocation,..."
Thus, I would stick with the assumption to use Warlock level for "caster level" on EB for overcoming SR as it would break the standard rule that each class has only one caster level.
Does that make sense now?