what does 'at will' mean

bweenie

First Post
If a creature has a power useable 'at will,' does this mean they can use it as many times per day as they want? As a free action, during another characters turn? Only as a standard action?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

An action which is available "at will" has no limit to the number of times per day it can be used, save that it can only be used once per round. Whatever action or other option it is, it normally takes as long to use as it otherwise would, so a spell-like ability which corresponds to a spell with a casting time of "one action" still takes one standard action. Generally, I would say that "at will" abilities must be used on the character's turn who is entitled to the ability, so unless you have a monster with feather fall at will as a spell-like ability, you're stuck waiting for your turn.
 

What Arbiter of Wyrms said. The phrase "at will" essentially refers to the fact that there is no numerical limit to uses per day. It is not referring to the method of activation or time taken.
 

Well, whenever Captain Picard gave the order to "Fire at Will" I thought that meant that Worf had permission to shoot the First Officer. :D
 

Silver Moon said:
Well, whenever Captain Picard gave the order to "Fire at Will" I thought that meant that Worf had permission to shoot the First Officer. :D

Very funny. Ha ha. This doesn't have anything to do with the original question though. Stay on topic please. So back to the original question: Why can all those D&D creatures target Riker like that, even though he's in another multiverse? :p
 

Actually it doesn't mean once per round. It just takes a standard action to use and has no limit on uses per time period. At least IMO, if the creature for some reason had the ability to use 2 standard actions a round or to quicken one of its spellikes I see no reason it couldn't use the same twice (thrice if it had both abilities).
 

Kalanyr said:
Actually it doesn't mean once per round. It just takes a standard action to use and has no limit on uses per time period. At least IMO, if the creature for some reason had the ability to use 2 standard actions a round or to quicken one of its spellikes I see no reason it couldn't use the same twice (thrice if it had both abilities).

Careful. Normally the creature's description will say whether its a free action, standard, full round or whatever. "At will" is simply whenever, and however often you wish.
 

KaeYoss said:
This doesn't have anything to do with the original question though. Stay on topic please.
Lighten up. It was 8:30 on a Saturday Morning, and at the time the thread was still under "General Discussion" rather than rules.

Now if you want a real answer, I'd say it would vary depending on the specific ability in question. Some things would make logical sense to be allowed to happen whenever the character wanted, others wouldn't. Weigh all the factors, including game balance and abilities of the other characters.

And in conclusion: "Will, duck, Worf has his phaser out!"
 

Remove ads

Top