What would casting Grease on a swarm do?

irdeggman said:
Because this implies that the grease spell effect can simply be wiped up with rags. This is just not possible with a magic effect - unless it specifically states so.

Actually, I would say this is possible. It would take longer than the spell's duration lasts, most likely, and so wasn't really worth mentioning, but the fact that the grease is actual, normal grease (as implied by its status as a conjuration (creation) effect) means that it responds to something in the way grease normally does - people slip in it, and it can be mopped up with several hours of (unnecessary) dedicated effort.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Kelleris said:
Actually, I would say this is possible. It would take longer than the spell's duration lasts, most likely, and so wasn't really worth mentioning, but the fact that the grease is actual, normal grease (as implied by its status as a conjuration (creation) effect) means that it responds to something in the way grease normally does - people slip in it, and it can be mopped up with several hours of (unnecessary) dedicated effort.

Grease is also flammable. Ever heard of a grease fire?

But you cannot give it attributes that the spell or the rules elsewhere do not state. You cannot set it on fire and you cannot mop it up.

Just like a 5 mile an hour wind in real life will move fog, but a 5 mile an hour wind in the game will not move a Fog Cloud spell. It's magic and does not work exactly like normal non-magical effects.
 

KarinsDad said:
I think a "spread of grease" would affect all creatures AND all inattended objects in the area unless they made saves.

Not per the RAW. Fine if we are in house-rules.

Per the RAW grease affects a flat surface or it can specifically target an object - period. The affects of the grease on the surface is what causes creatures (who walk - see later) to have hampered movement.

SRD:

Target or Area: One object or a 10-ft. square

A literal ruling is that a Flying Swarm is in the area and is also a creature, hence, it is affected by a normal Grease spell. But, it does not make sense that a Flying Swarm is affected at all.

Not really. From the SRD description of grease spell:

A creature can walk within or through the area of grease at half normal speed with a DC 10 Balance check. Failure means it can’t move that round (and must then make a Reflex save or fall), while failure by 5 or more means it falls (see the Balance skill for details).

If a creature doesn't walk it's movement is not affected by grease at all.
 

KarinsDad meant 'spread of grease' per the spell shape metamagic to turn the AoE into something other than the SRD description....

Of course, he also meant 'unattended'.. but I am sure that was just a typo :p
 

irdeggman said:
If a creature doesn't walk it's movement is not affected by grease at all.

Are you sure?

"Target or Area: One object or a 10-ft. square"

"Any creature in the area when the spell is cast must make a successful Reflex save or fall. This save is repeated on your turn each round that the creature remains within the area."

Is a flying swarm a single creature (for purposes of spells)?

Is a flying swarm considered "in the 4 squares" where the swarm is located?
 

Remove ads

Top