There's a few feats that are worded with "whenever you hit an enemy", and I want to know if that refers only to the target of an attack, or also those enemies who are hit by "splash damage".
For example, I have the Mark of Storms feat with the feature "Whenever you hit an enemy with a thunder or lightning power, you can slide that enemy 1 square." I then use the Warden At-Will Tempest Assault with "Target: One creature" and "Hit: 1[W]... and one enemy within 2 squares of you that is marked by you, other than the target, takes thunder damage equal to your Constitution modifier."
So, the second enemy wasn't rolled against (not a "Target"), but it was part of the "Hit" description (not an "Effect" description) and it's clear that it's thunder damage. So, is the second enemy also affected by the Mark of Storems feat's slide bonus?
In other cases, such as with Eberron Shard of Lightning, it is clear that it only affects the Target since the description is "Property: You gain a +1 bonus to damage ROLLS with lightning attacks...". Namely, it only affects the target since that's the only one rolled against.
I haven't found that this is clear in the rules, or if it's one of those things that people will interpret differently. If you think it's covered by the rules, could you point it out?
Thanks! I just took this feat and will be using it for the first time, so I want to understand it, and not spring a judgement on the DM.
For example, I have the Mark of Storms feat with the feature "Whenever you hit an enemy with a thunder or lightning power, you can slide that enemy 1 square." I then use the Warden At-Will Tempest Assault with "Target: One creature" and "Hit: 1[W]... and one enemy within 2 squares of you that is marked by you, other than the target, takes thunder damage equal to your Constitution modifier."
So, the second enemy wasn't rolled against (not a "Target"), but it was part of the "Hit" description (not an "Effect" description) and it's clear that it's thunder damage. So, is the second enemy also affected by the Mark of Storems feat's slide bonus?
In other cases, such as with Eberron Shard of Lightning, it is clear that it only affects the Target since the description is "Property: You gain a +1 bonus to damage ROLLS with lightning attacks...". Namely, it only affects the target since that's the only one rolled against.
I haven't found that this is clear in the rules, or if it's one of those things that people will interpret differently. If you think it's covered by the rules, could you point it out?
Thanks! I just took this feat and will be using it for the first time, so I want to understand it, and not spring a judgement on the DM.