Which spells EXACTLY can be made potions or wands?

Li Shenron

Legend
From the SRD:

You can create a potion of any 3rd-level or lower spell that you know and that targets one or more creatures.

...

When you create a potion, you make any choices that you would normally make when casting the spell. Whoever drinks the potion is the target of the spell.

I take that this means you are no way limited to the potions listed in the table, but perhaps there are no more core spells excluded from that list.

But what exactly is a spell that "targets" one or more creature... I know this should be obvious, but does it exacly require to say Target: one (or more) creature in the spell's entry?

I suppose that a spell with range Personal but which doesn't say the Target doesn't qualify (no potion of Shield on the table in fact...).

Can you make OILS with the Brew Potion feat? They are on the same chart as potions but they target objects.

------------------------------------------------------------------------

From the SRD:

You can create a wand of any 4th-level or lower spell that you know.

The Craft Wand feat description doesn't say any restriction beside the level. Can I take it that a wand of absolutely any spell can exist (even if the table is pretty incomplete)?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Li Shenron said:
I take that this means you are no way limited to the potions listed in the table

Right.

But what exactly is a spell that "targets" one or more creature... I know this should be obvious, but does it exacly require to say Target: one (or more) creature in the spell's entry?

Right.

I suppose that a spell with range Personal but which doesn't say the Target doesn't qualify (no potion of Shield on the table in fact...).

Right.

Can you make OILS with the Brew Potion feat? They are on the same chart as potions but they target objects.

Yes.

The Craft Wand feat description doesn't say any restriction beside the level. Can I take it that a wand of absolutely any spell can exist (even if the table is pretty incomplete)?

Yes.
 

Li Shenron said:
I suppose that a spell with range Personal but which doesn't say the Target doesn't qualify (no potion of Shield on the table in fact...).

This just came up in our game and this thread from last month that brings up the important points. While there is nothing under the Brew Potion feat description or under the Potions entry denying putting Personal spells into potions, it is absolutely not allowed according to the Magic Item Creation rules that are found after all the magic item descriptions in the DMG. I believe the Potion entry is on pg. 286 IIRC.

HTH.

DrSpunj
 

Remove ads

Top