Wisdom and "Can Cast Spells as a Druid" Question.

Christian Walker

First Post
Here ya go:

I saw an ability for a creatures written as follows:

Spells: The XXXX casts spells as a 7th level druid for determining spell potency, availability, and number of spells per day. This spellcasting ability is available to it in any form it takes, and it never requires material components.

I saw the above in a stat block and I wondered if the creature's Wisdom score modifiy the number of Druid spells it can cast in a day?

Thanks!
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Crothian said:
Ya, it should follow all the normal rules of a Druid since it casts spells as a 7th level one.

Thank you! I'm using an article from Dragon 303 to make a monkey god and this helps immensely. It's going to be a very tough little monkey!
 

Now go and have a look at the Nymph, who "replicates druid spells as 7th level casters" as spell-like abilities.

By reading this in conjunction with the definition of spell-like abilities - I don't have my MM here, but it includes a line like "the caster level of a SLA only affects the variable effects of the ability, never the level of the spell that can be cast" - and the implication is that Nymphs can cast 9th level druid spells, at will, with a caster level of 7 for effects like "1d6/level damage" or "400ft. + 40ft./level".

-Hyp.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top