Wizard Confusion

It gets even more confusing when you have a wizard that takes a level 1 spell slot when they reach fifth level.

So they have 2 level 1 spell slots and 0 level 5 spell slots(just as if another class had picked a lower level daily instead of a higher level)
 

log in or register to remove this ad

It gets even more confusing when you have a wizard that takes a level 1 spell slot when they reach fifth level.

So they have 2 level 1 spell slots and 0 level 5 spell slots(just as if another class had picked a lower level daily instead of a higher level)

I'm not quite understanding what you are saying.

A Wizard gets a 5th level slot at 5th level. He (according to RAW) must acquire 2 5th level powers for it and place them in his spellbook. He cannot (TMK) acquire a 1st level power for it at this time and place it in his spellbook. It would still be a level 5 slot at that point in time, even if he could acquire two level one powers for it (which I do not think he can).

Later on, he can Replace one or both of the 5th level powers with a 1st level power (or even higher than 5th level) for use in that slot, but IIRC, he cannot do that when he acquires the power (the PHB states that he acquires powers of that same level). There might be a general rule somewhere that states that when PCs first acquire a power at level x, they can take a level x or lower power, but I am unaware of such a rule.
 

Remove ads

Top