Wizard Spells Gained at New (PrC) Level

Noman

First Post
If I take a level in PrC such as Arcane Trickster, would I still get the 2 spells Wizards normally get for each level to add to my spellbook?

From the description of Spells per Day for any of these PrC that grants +1 level in existing (spellcasting) class, it states "the character gains new spells per day as if he had also gained a level in a spellcasting class...", and "an increased effective level of spellcasting." Seems to me this would mean that the 2 "free" spells as a result of the Wizard's research (PHB p. 155) would not be included.

That would suck.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Nope...

Your casting level increases, and the number of spells per day increases, but not any other Mage class ability.

You just have to hope you are going to find spellbooks while adventuring, or you'll have to buy spells.
 

Incorrect.

Edit: That sounds harsh, um.. How about "Mike is mistaken,"? Erk, you know what I mean. Sorry Mike, no offense intended.

Check out the FAQ for the official answer to this frequently asked question. :)

For sorcerers, wizards, bards, and the like, anytime a class grants +1 level of spellcaster additional spells known continues at the usual rate.

http://www.wizards.com/dnd/article.asp?x=dnd/er/er20020111a
 
Last edited:

Jeremy said:
Incorrect.

Edit: That sounds harsh, um.. How about "Mike is mistaken,"? Erk, you know what I mean. Sorry Mike, no offense intended.

Check out the FAQ for the official answer to this frequently asked question. :)

For sorcerers, wizards, bards, and the like, anytime a class grants +1 level of spellcaster additional spells known continues at the usual rate.

http://www.wizards.com/dnd/article.asp?x=dnd/er/er20020111a

Hey... you're right!!! Sorry about that.

None taken Jeremy...
 

Remove ads

Top