Wizard Spells


log in or register to remove this ad

what I'm saying was that at say caster level 9 he already has every core abjuration spell up to level 5. He collects scrolls before he can even learn the spells, and is already looking for level 6 spells. So when he hits caster level 10 I now have to find a non core abjuration spell for him. If the game is restricted to core rules, then this character has broken the rules already by knowing all the abjuration spells. He is not by this rule allowed to get all 3 abjuration 5th level spells. So if he chooses break enchantment and dismissal, while he has a scroll of private sanctum he cannot learn from that scroll because he is specialized. He has to learn private sanctum at level 10.
 

Uhm... no. :p

It only says, that you must learn one Abjuration spell every time you level up (one of the two free spells).

It does not place any limit on the number of Abjuration spells you can learn at any time.

Bye
Thanee
 


Other ones? ;)

Oh, just re-read your post and I did misunderstand it some, so forget what I've written above, please! :D

If you play core books only (otherwise there are more than enough Abjuration spells), then you either have to "save" one up for the next level up, or you just forfeit that one free spell. Not really a big deal.

Scrolls can also be used for different things than to learn the spells from them. You could sell them or just cast the spells from them.

It's obviously a good idea to learn the spells from scrolls, which do not make a good deal when cast from the scroll and keep those scrolls, which might be handy to have eventually.

Bye
Thanee
 

I think however for expediency I will probably just have to force my self to get some non core stuff for this game. The point of this is to make sure specialists do specialize however so I would never penalize a player for specializing by making that player forfeit a spell.
 

Just make sure the specialist knows how it works ahead of time and they can plan their spell selection a little better and they should be fine. Bonus spells may be of any level so while the Abjurist may have all of their school's 5th level spells, they can still select a 4th, 3rd, or a 2nd Abjuration spell that they don't possess yet. If they already have *every* abjuration spell, I'd try to encourage the specialist to pick a more diverse group of scrolls to purchase. A wizard's stength is in a diversity of spells, having every abjuration spell is nice but gets expensive expecially when trying to collect other spells as well.
 

kenobi65 said:
Sorry, you're mistaken on this one.

"Each time a character attains a new wizard level, she gains two spells of her choice to add to her spellbook. These spells represent the results of her research. The two free spells must be of spell levels she can cast. If she has chosen to specialize in a school of magic, one of the two free spells must be from her specialty school." -- PHB, p. 179.
Oh, huh. I've never played a specialized Wizard, so oops.
 

Sledge said:
I think however for expediency I will probably just have to force my self to get some non core stuff for this game. The point of this is to make sure specialists do specialize however so I would never penalize a player for specializing by making that player forfeit a spell.

This doesn't seem like a bad idea. :)

Bye
Thanee
 

That's wonky and I'd probably house rule that out as a DM. I'd also never play a specialist wizard under those conditions, unless I'm in a game that's starting out at fairly high levels or where I know the DM is going to be throwing scads of cash at us. At low levels, the cost of adding new scrolls into your spellbook is pretty significant.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top