Wizard Wands?

Given that's it's a minor action to use a potion from its storing place (doesn't need to be in hand per se, merely not hidden in your backpack) a potion in hand might be a waste of hand.
It's a minor action to draw an item, and another minor action to quaff a potion. (See page 289, PHB, Actions in Combat table for references.)
 

log in or register to remove this ad

My wizard has quick access to healing potions already completely covered.

See the attached solution...
 

Attachments

  • wizard hat.jpg
    wizard hat.jpg
    86.5 KB · Views: 97

Drawing a potion out of your pack is a minor action. Having it handy is less than that.

Yeah, not sure I buy that without a specific exception to the "drawing an item is a minor action" rule. Show me a potion belt that says "you can draw a potion from this belt as part of the minor action you use to drink it" and I'll agree, but if it isn't in your hand, it's a minor action to pull it out. If drawing a potion from your belt is a free action, why isn't drawing a dagger, or a shuriken, or any other weapon about the size and speediness-to-pull-out as a potion?
 

Can a wizard wield a longsword in one hand and a wand in the other and use either one interchangeably. Not that the sword would be swung around much but if an OA comes up may as well swing one rather than punch.
A wand requires one hand, and a longsword requires one hand. Most PCs have two, so it should be fine.

Staff mages and WotST don't have this problem, though, since they have an implement that is also a weapon.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top