Wizards spellbook

Sektat

First Post
Is a wizard limited to 1 (own) spellbook only? Where does it say, or imply, that he can have more than one spellbook with own spells in it?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

A wizard is not limited in the number of spells he knows.

A spellbook is limited to the number of spells it can contain.

Therefore a wizard eventually requires more than one spellbook to keep all his spells in.
 

From the SRD

Replacing and Copying Spellbooks
A wizard can use the procedure for learning a spell to reconstruct a lost spellbook. If she already has a particular spell prepared, she can write it directly into a new book at a cost of 100 gp per page (as noted in Writing a New Spell into a Spellbook, above). The process wipes the prepared spell from her mind, just as casting it would. If she does not have the spell prepared, she can prepare it from a borrowed spellbook and then write it into a new book.

Duplicating an existing spellbook uses the same procedure as replacing it, but the task is much easier. The time requirement and cost per page are halved.

PHB pg 178-179 (the above is found on pg 179)

Note that a wizard does not have to pay in time nor in gp to scribe the new spells he learns at a new level (i.e., those "free" ones) - but that does not include any that he "copies" into a different spell book, only the 1st copy is free.
 

What about the idea of a second completely new spellbook with completely new spells, thus having two different spellbooks of your own creation with different spells?

This could be great for not putting all your proverbial eggs in one basket as well as extending the number of spells available to you without the limitation of the number of pages of spells that can fit into a single spellbook.
 

What about the idea of a second completely new spellbook with completely new spells, thus having two different spellbooks of your own creation with different spells?

This could be great for not putting all your proverbial eggs in one basket as well as extending the number of spells available to you without the limitation of the number of pages of spells that can fit into a single spellbook.

There is nothing in the rules that prevents this. Most well-run wizards should end up with multiple spellbooks containing different spells by the time they reach mid-level.
 


There is nothing in the rules that prevents this. Most well-run wizards should end up with multiple spellbooks containing different spells by the time they reach mid-level.

Absolutely and...

When you kill the enemy wizard and take his stuff, his stuff will usually include his spellbook. Your wizard is free to use the dead guy's spellbook.

In IE, my magic user (wizard in 3E speak) had a library of spellbooks that originally belonged to somebody else.

Thanks,
Rich
 


We use the modified spellbook rules from one of the Forgotten Realms sourcebooks (Magic of Faerun?) that allows you to learn the spells from someone else's spellbook and then actually use that spellbook rather than copying the spells into your own.

It makes for much more interesting characters who accumulate a collection of spellbooks (usually from enemies) over the course of their career. When you create custom descriptions for each spellbook, it makes for an interesting collection.
 


Remove ads

Top