You're playing it wrong

Glade Riven

Adventurer
Let me tell you a little story...

I started playing during the heyday of 3.5. When I looked throught the core rulebook, I decided to play an elf paladin. I was warned that it was going to be a bit tricky, especially for a first time player, because elf paladin isn't optimised. I also played him like a ranger - leather armor, dex based build, focused on shooting things.

Glendric Elfsblood became my best and longest running character. He made it to Level 14 before I had to stop playing him as I moved to a different city. He was never optimised, but held his own in a group of optimised characters. During the course of the campaign, he had two major modifications - one, the replacement of spells with Martial Maneuvers of the crusader from Book of 9 Swords; two, when Pathfinder came out he was rebuilt as a straight paladin instead of the weirdness I had with several prestige classes. Other players told me he was the best character I've ever played.

But listening to some folk on this forum? I was playing it wrong. I took minions and encounter design from 4e and applied it to pathfinder when I DMed. I was playing it wrong. I cheated a little bit here and there to control the pacing so battles didn't get bogged down. I was playing it wrong.

But you know what? It doesn't matter if some people on an internet forum believe that I was playing it wrong. I had fun. My players had fun. So to the people who mattered: My DM, my fellow players, my own players (usually the same people) - I was playing it right.

So what does that have to do with 5e? If I want paladins with encounter powers and clerics with vancian magic, it looks like I'm going to be able to do that from core from the start. If you want a vancian character and I want to play an encounter character, we can sit down at the same table and play the same game because it's all compatable. We each can play the way we want to play - and we'll both be playing it right.