Ysgardian Heartwire rule

Arteyu

First Post
I don't exactly understand how this item works...Does this item apply to normal D&D 3.5 rules? Or does it use a different set of rules...

Basically I'm trying to understand exactly what this thing does, a permanent +2 to ac? Or does the opponent always have to reroll when he does a critical hit although now with my armor at a +2? Or something else?

Ysgardian Heartwire

(Book of Exalted Deeds p38)

Thin, strong wire that is
used to reinforce the
vulnerable areas of armor

+2 AC to avoid having a Critical Confirmed only.
May only be added to Chain Shirts, Chainmail, or Heavy
Armor
 

log in or register to remove this ad

When an opponent makes the confirmation roll after a threat he has to hit your AC+2 in order to confirm the crit.

For example if you had an AC of 24 with the heartwire woven in and an enemy rolls a nat 20 and thus a threat his conformation roll has to hit AC 26 or higher in order to confirm the crit.

If he rolls and hits AC 24 (your normal AC) then it is just a standard hit due to the heartwire.
 

Raylis said:
When an opponent makes the confirmation roll after a threat he has to hit your AC+2 in order to confirm the crit.

For example if you had an AC of 24 with the heartwire woven in and an enemy rolls a nat 20 and thus a threat his conformation roll has to hit AC 26 or higher in order to confirm the crit.

If he rolls and hits AC 24 (your normal AC) then it is just a standard hit due to the heartwire.

This is for all critical hits right? So if say someone gets a critical hit with a rapier on an 18 or 19, they'd still have to reroll to confirm its a critical hit?

Or it only applies on natural 20's?
 


Remove ads

Top