Best DM Aids?

cfmcdonald

Explorer
What supplements/aids have you found most useful for DMing D&D, both at the table and in prep?

I'm looking for other useful stuff like the Dungeon Alphabet or d30 DM Companion.

Hand of Evil

Hero
Epic
AEG's Toolbox books, just books of tables :)
Farmers Almanac, you just need one. Use it for moon rises & sets, weather, special events. Surprising how much information it has.

Razjah

Explorer
For prep:

Gameplay:
  • Note Pad- scratch notes are way easier for me.
  • Index cards- organize and hand out stuff
  • Poker ships- stat conditions, fate points, bennies, whatever
  • Physical Copy of the book- doesn't crash, doesn't need a password to read, no battery, no problems. I always want at least one physical copy at the table
  • Name List/Book/Generator- I'm not good at random names, having something on hand helps me not worry. If culture or influence or whatever matters, I can keep verisimilitude with lists.

Lanefan

Victoria Rules
What supplements/aids have you found most useful for DMing D&D, both at the table and in prep?
Prep:
- graph paper, coloured pens/pencils, various other drawing and drafting supplies
- adventure modules of all kinds - even if I'll never run it as is, any module - no matter how bad - can still be mined for maps or ideas or whatever
- hard copies of any books or other materials I need
- pre-printed forms (character sheets, xp and finances tracking sheets, etc.) in quantity - if players use a standardized character sheet, finding info on it is much easier for you-as-DM
- coffee
- time

At the table:
- a big-ass table - no table is too big
- a handy place to store what I'll need, be it shelves behind me, a small table beside me, a box on the floor, or (like me) all of these
- DM screen with all my notes/charts/maps/tables paper-clipped to my side of it
- chalkboard, chalk, eraser (for drawing out maps of what they see)