What's a good high-charisma build? Or, can Bards be useful?

Zaruthustran

The tingling means it’s working!
I'm looking to start a new character, a high charisma character. Most of my characters are combat machines with an 8 Cha so I'm not experienced at building with charisma.

What works best for high charisma builds? Is Sor/Cleric/Mystic Theurge viable? How about a Sor/Pal, or Sor/Cleric? Or straight up Bard?

Speaking of Bard... has anyone been able to put one to good use, in game?

-z

FrankTrollman

First Post
What works best for high charisma builds?

Paladins. The class stops getting getting abilities after about level 5 which is plenty of time to take a PrC or three. You can go far as a Paladin.

Alternately: Clerics. You can max out a turning based character fairly easily - and with the elemental domains you can be followed around with quite a stack of monsters - which are dragged around based on hit dice, and not something balanced like CR.

Is Sor/Cleric/Mystic Theurge viable?

No. Imagine for a second that you were taking Sorcerer - a class which gets its new powerful spells one level later for no damned reason at all. Now imagine that you were being a Mystic Theurge and delaying your new spell levels by 3 more levels. And then that you needed to balance two sets of skills without a good int bonus.

The Wizard/Cleric MyTh is jacked on synnergy in many ways (so much so that the often quoted 20th level MyTh who casts as a 17th level Wizard and a 13th level Cleric would actually have more Clerical spells by just taking three more levels of Wizard and using his extra spell slots on Summon Monster to get Celestials who cast Cleric Spells) - the Sorcerer/Cleric MyTh gets punched in the balls even more.

How about a Sor/Pal, or Sor/Cleric?
Multiclassing Spellcasters = Suck. That's been true since 3rd edition came out and nothing has broken that rule. Ever.

Or straight up Bard?