Intelligent Blademaster with Javelin?

So, unless you can find a specific rule that says that it counts as both ranged and melee at the same time, it's a ranged weapon when thrown and therefore will not work with the Intelligent Blademaster feat.

It counts as melee because it is by definition a melee weapon. It counts as ranged when used with a Ranged power because the thrown property applies. Both are true when used in a ranged power, therefore it counts as having both traits when thrown.

The attack is not a melee attack, obviously. The weapon is, however, a melee weapon. The weapon is not a ranged weapon, but counts as a ranged weapon, and therefore any rules that interact with ranged weapons interact with it.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

When the book says 'You can’t use a ranged weapon as a melee weapon' it's talking about attacking with the weapon as is. Let me explain. You can't attack with a bow in melee and get the bows proficiency bonus and it's damage. Nothing stops you from wielding it as an Improvised Melee Weapon though. It just is +0 to hit and does a d4 damage.

If you couldn't, then it leads to something very odd. It would mean that every object 1-5 lbs in the world EXCEPT ranged weapons could be used as a one handed melee weapon. That doesn't make a lot of sense.

As far as a javelin throwing intelligent blademaster, I'd have to say the javelin never stops being a melee weapon. It's for the same reason that when you are dying, you are still bloodied. Nothing is exclusive unless the rules say so. Just because something has one trait/feature doesn't mean it can't have another. Taking that into account and the fact that the feat says basic attack and NOT melee basic attack, it seems you get to use your int for all javelin attacks (melee or ranged).
 

So, according to you, tags go by object, regardless of method of use. It follows that a javelin is, always, a melee weapon. Note that under that set of rules, 1 lb objects (the only weight for thrown improvised weapons), despite having an entry in a melee weapon table, cannot be used as improvised melee weapons because they are also improvised ranged weapons.
Nope. A javelin is a melee weapon, ranged weapon, improvised ranged weapon and improvised ranged weapon. All of them.

The rule says 'You can’t use a ranged weapon as a melee weapon' NOT 'You can’t use an improvised ranged weapon as a melee weapon' or 'You can’t use a ranged weapon as a improvised melee weapon'.
 

Actually a javelin is a melee weapon, improvised melee weapon, and -counts- as a ranged weapon when used in ranged powers, which supercedes whatever it would be doing as an improvised ranged weapon.

I wouldn't, however, go that far with it, elec. improvised melee weapons are still melee weapons. The rule still applies, a ranged weapon can't be used as an improvised melee weapon. (I'd still allow it tho)
 
Last edited:

So, according to you, tags go by object, regardless of method of use. It follows that a javelin is, always, a melee weapon.

I'm not understanding what you're getting at here. By "tags", do you mean weapon type? And if so, what does "goes by object, regardless of means of use" mean? Additionally, I showed the rule above that says that a "thrown weapon" counts as a ranged weapon when thrown. So no, there is nothing to indicate that a javelin is always a melee weapon. It is a melee weapon with the Heavy Thrown propery, which lets it count as ranged when used in a ranged weapon attack.

Note that under that set of rules, 1 lb objects (the only weight for thrown improvised weapons), despite having an entry in a melee weapon table, cannot be used as improvised melee weapons because they are also improvised ranged weapons.
Again, what set of rules? If you mean that a ranged weapon can't be used as a melee weapon, then yeah, you're right. However, this doesn't somehow invalidate all improvised ranged weapons, nor does it mean all 1lb objects are improvised weapons. A blanket weighs at least 1lb, for example, but it wouldn't be an improvised weapon capable of inflicting damage. We're talking about things like rocks, sticks, cutlery, iron rods, chair legs, table legs, jagged pieces of metal, spikes, chains, etc... The weights listed don't mean all objects within those weight limits, just that objects used as improvised weapons must fall within those limits. You couldn't use a barrel of wine as a ranged or melee weapon, for example, since it exceeds both weight limits. You also couldn't use a table leg as an improvised ranged weapon since it's too heavy, but it would fall within the parameters for an improvised melee weapon.

Plus, one could make the argument that while you can't use a ranged weapon as a melee weapon, that you could have objects that would work as both improvised melee and improvised ranged weapons (since improvised is a different category of weapon). Rocks, for example. Not necessarily at the same time, but you could have a rock that works as an improvised melee weapon (bigger, sharper) and a rock that works as an improvised ranged weapon (smoother, smaller, easier to hold and throw). Although for the purposes of melee, I would think you would need bigger than a 1lb rock to do significant damage. The 1lb objects in that category would be more along the lines of small metal objects, like shivs or thin rods.

Further note that (extremely) hypothetical weapons (maybe there are some in the AV, I rather doubt it) with worse base state lines than the improvised weapons but with really good tags could then be used as improvised weapons while keeping the good tags.
I don't see how something can have worse than a 1d4 for damage, which is the baseline stat for improvised weapons. You would need a 1d2 (coin flip essentially), which doesn't exist in the D&D rules currently. The dagger meets the baseline stats for improvised melee and improvised ranged weapons in that it does the same damage and has the same range. However, it's not an improvised weapon at all, but rather one designed for combat. This is why it has a proficiency bonus, whereas improvised weapons do not. It's just a low damage weapon.

Again, I don't really see what kind of point you're trying to make here. What, that they could make a weapon using a die that doesn't exist that you could use as improvised to get higher damage but still treat it as a simple or military weapon for purposes of proficiency???

Of course, for the case of melee weapons with light/heavy thrown tags, you get the more permissive case of weapons with a combined melee/thrown weapon-table entry, so you can't argue your way out of Int. Blademaster+thrown javelin by saying "an improvised weapon doesn't count as the non-improvised use and vice-versa because they are separate weapon table entries".

(btw, I was wrong on 2-handed imp. melee weapons, the weight range s 6-12)
Light/Heavy Thrown is a property of some melee weapons. This property allows them to be counted as ranged weapons when making ranged attacks. What does that have to do with being improvised? It's not an improvised weapon, it's a simple or military weapon with the Light/Heavy Thrown property. So a Javelin, for example, is a simple melee weapon with the Heavy Thrown property. This allows it to count as a ranged weapon for the purposes of throwing it as part of a ranged basic attack (or use with a ranged power). Nowhere in there is there anything about it being an improvised weapon, or a melee weapon that has a ranged attack.

If what you're getting at here is that somehow you can have a 1lb improvised melee weapon that would also qualify as an improvised ranged weapon, then it would essentially have the thrown quality, it doesn't matter. There's no "Heavy Thrown" property for improvised weapons, which would mean that it was "Light Thrown" anyway, and would therefore key off of Dexterity, not Strength. Essentially, it would function as an improvised Dagger. This is of course assuming that there is actually a rule governing the use of improved weapons with the Light Thrown property, which there is not. If I were a DM though, I would probably allow it for a sufficiently small object...it would save us from having to track the use of two different rocks.
 

I wouldn't, however, go that far with it, elec. improvised melee weapons are still melee weapons. The rule still applies, a ranged weapon can't be used as an improvised melee weapon. (I'd still allow it tho)
I'll have to disagree with you then. From the way I read the rule, it's saying a can't use a bow AS a bow in melee NOT that I can't hit someone with my bow in melee. So no +2 to hit and d10 damage from smacking someone over the head with my bow, just +0 and d4 damage.
 

A one-handed weapon, by your -own- interpretation is a one-handed weapon regardless if it is versatile and is used as a two-handed weapon.

It depends on whether one considers p215 or p217 to be authoritative.

p217 says the weapon is one-handed, but you gain a bonus for using it two-handed. Still sounds like a one-handed weapon to me.

p215 states that weapons are either one-handed or two-handed, but that some one-handed weapons can deal extra damage by using them as two-handed weapons. If you use it as a two-handed weapon, and a weapon is either a one-handed weapon or a two-handed weapon, then while you are using it as a two-handed weapon, you are not using it as a one-handed weapon.

To me, the Versatile entry is more specific than the Weapon Categories entry, especially since p215 doesn't even reference the Versatile keyword, but I think p215 implies a change in classification, while p217 does not.

Regardless, the logic is very simple. If using an object as something else does not explicitly make it stop being what it is, then it still is what it is. It's the one-handed versatile logic applied directly to this situation.

But in this case, you're (temporarily) forbidden from using the javelin as a melee weapon, so availing yourself of a feat that only works with melee weapons is impossible. The explicit statement you're looking for is right there.

-Hyp.
 

But in this case, you're (temporarily) forbidden from using the javelin as a melee weapon, so availing yourself of a feat that only works with melee weapons is impossible. The explicit statement you're looking for is right there.

-Hyp.
I think the issue is that it isn't stated that you are '(temporarily) forbidden from using the javelin as a melee weapon'. Even as it flies through the air, it's still a melee weapon by it's description. No where does to state that a melee weapon used in ranged combat STOPS being a melee weapon, even for an instant. The way the feat is worded, all you need is a melee weapon and make a basic attack. Both are true with a javelin on a basic ranged attack.
 

...
But in this case, you're (temporarily) forbidden from using the javelin as a melee weapon, so availing yourself of a feat that only works with melee weapons is impossible. The explicit statement you're looking for is right there.

-Hyp.

You are explicitly forbidden to make a melee attack with a javelin while throwing said javelin. I don't see how that removes the melee qualifier that javelins come with thanks to their placement in the weapon tables. For the later to occur, you would need to explicitly strip the melee qualifier. And that doesn't happen.

If, say, you were facing a jealous god of swords, with the power: melee weapon attacks cannot be made with non-swords within 50', that would not make my trusty axe a non-melee-weapon. If I were dual-wielding axe and sword with two-weapon fighting and defense, I would still get the +1 to damage and AC.
 

You are explicitly forbidden to make a melee attack with a javelin while throwing said javelin.

No, you aren't. You're forbidden from using it as a melee weapon.

If, say, you were facing a jealous god of swords, with the power: melee weapon attacks cannot be made with non-swords within 50', that would not make my trusty axe a non-melee-weapon.

Right. But if he had the power "Non-swords cannot be used as melee weapons within 50 feet", then your axe could not satisfy any "need a melee weapon" requirement.

If I were dual-wielding axe and sword with two-weapon fighting and defense, I would still get the +1 to damage and AC.

Sure. But under the alternative power above, you wouldn't, because in order to benefit from TWF and TWD, you'd need to be wielding a melee weapon... and the axe cannot be used as a melee weapon within 50 feet of Sword God Beta.

-Hyp.
 

Remove ads

Top