Broken Wizard combo?

It's legal, and it's been known for ages, and my guess is that your wizard player didn't spot it, but rather read about it elsewhere.

The solution is to ask him to not be an arse. This is one of those combos that destroys the game.

This is one of those combos... wow...

It can be used once, maybe twice, per day. It is not a game breaker unless the DM literally only uses 1 encounter per day, and then, only if there is a single vastly important entity involved in that fight. If the DM builds encounters like I do, then usually there are no "OMG! Kill it!!" creatures involved. Instead, there is a team of enemies working together to end the PC's lives, or capture them at least.

Also, this tactic does absolutely nothing when the only encounters the PC's face in a given week is social encounters, lol... The game isn't always about combat.
 

log in or register to remove this ad



I don't think they are of the same type.

They are also not bonuses.

Fun note, Tiamat is not immune to petrification. Thusly, you can get that one fae epic destiny that lets you petrify someone you stun with a cold power, combine it with the power that lets you make a daily a cold power, then drop it on legion's hold or something. Bam! Insta-loose for goddes. Cause you can get taclord bonuses and such.
 

IMHO, the best house rule I've seen bandied about is: everyone saves on a natural 16 or higher. So you can only profit from the first -5 you impose on someone; conversely, your foes can only impose an effective -5 on you & yours, though PCs have more powers that grant save bonuses, so it may be profitable for evil to impose more than just -5.

Cheers, -- N
 

Another one I kind of like is restricting the Orb of Imposition effect to just the next single saving throw against the power. That brings it more in line with the other implements, which mostly only affect one roll.
 

Making the Orb of Imposition only affect one save against a power seems too severe. Wand of Accuracy and Staff of Defense only apply to one roll, but you can use the ability after you see the roll in question.

My take on the Orb: Orb of Imposition (Wizard class feature): Orb of Imposition’s save penalty power is a free action you can use only once per encounter, but you can choose to apply it after the relevant saving throw roll has already been made.

Save penalty items: Cunning Weapon, Earthroot Staff, Phrenic Crown and Skull Mask only apply saving throw penalties to the first saving throw made against the effect.
 

Another one I kind of like is restricting the Orb of Imposition effect to just the next single saving throw against the power. That brings it more in line with the other implements, which mostly only affect one roll.
Well, the Staff allows the bonus use to be declared after both the hit and damage have been declared, so IMHO it would be fair to allow the Orb to apply to a single saving throw, after the save is rolled. So once per encounter, it is useful when it is applicable (just like the Staff power).

Cheers, -- N
 

My take on the Orb: Orb of Imposition (Wizard class feature): Orb of Imposition’s save penalty power is a free action you can use only once per encounter, but you can choose to apply it after the relevant saving throw roll has already been made.
Pesky ninjae.

Cheers, -- N
 

I really like that natural 16 houserule, and despite not having a campaign with this wizard build, may well make it a standard practice going forward.

I personally would love to see a significant errata on the orb mastery. I think the orb wizard would remain perfectly viable if you were to change the functionality to the creature having the penalty on its next savings throw only (as opposed to all throws related with the effect).
 

Remove ads

Top