Opportunity Attacks


log in or register to remove this ad



Its monsters turn.
3 of them run past you the tank to get to a cloth wearer.
You can make 3 opportunity attacks ?
 
Last edited:

You can never make one on your turn.

You can make as many as you want outside your turn, provided you only make one on -their- turn. Once it's someone else's turn, you can make another.

.... make as many as you want outside your turn....

.... only make one on - their turn.....

How do these seemingly contradictory statements work ?
 

Each monster has a turn.
On each turn, you can make an OA.
Therefore, you smack each of them.

As for making an OA on your turn, you can't ...
But some circumstances or powers would make it possible if the rules allow it.
Cause Fear (PH, Cleric 1) for instance.
Or if a monster readied a charge on your turn, and charges past you.
 

Its monsters turn.
3 of them run past you the tank to get to a cloth wearer.
You can make 3 opportunity attacks ?

Monster A's turn. Take an opportunity attack.

Monster B's turn. Take an opportunity attack.

Monster C's turn. Take an opportunity attack.


One attack per turn. Three turns taken. Three attacks made.


And if said 'tank' was a Fighter, that's three monsters who never even got close to the not-Fighter.
 


Once per Combatant’s Turn: You can take no
more than one opportunity action on each other
combatant’s turn. You can’t take an opportunity
action on your own turn.

-PHB, page 268

You can show this to your player to end their confusion. Luckily WotC nipped this one in the bud.
 

A relating question: If a monster can carry you around while grabbing and it moves, can you opportunity attack?

I have an argumentation for both. (I am however inclinded to say YES)
 

Remove ads

Top