StreamOfTheSky
Adventurer
How can a person's turn end if it never started? They didn't even take ANY actions. I'm trying to think of comparable things existing IN the rules.
White Raven Tactics changes the target's initiative to immediately after yours, so he goes right then, the opposite of waiting an entire combat turn.
Readying gives you an ACTION before switching your initative to before the incident that triggered it.
Reactive Counterspell lets you take a standard action to counterspell without having readied one previously, and pay for it later with your next turn's standard action.
What part of the rules sets a precedent for this "all involved lose a turn" houserule? Explain why it happens other than as a game balance fix.
EDIT: More on convoluted...
As written, even IF the spell negatively affected the riders along with the casters...there's no mechanical effect. Say a Wizard goes on Init 15 and a Rogue on Init 13. W takes R with him for Dim Door. The rogue can now not act until his next turn. *Initiative 13 rolls around* Hey, look at that! It's the Rogue's next turn. He can actfinally again!
The only way this isn't the case is if moving with Dimension Door somehow makes it your turn. Even though every single other teleportation and movement spell in the entire game...anywhere... that moves another creature doesn't do this. And all without any explicit or implicit mention in the Dimension Door spell description that having the spell alter other people's initiative counts was even intended.
White Raven Tactics changes the target's initiative to immediately after yours, so he goes right then, the opposite of waiting an entire combat turn.
Readying gives you an ACTION before switching your initative to before the incident that triggered it.
Reactive Counterspell lets you take a standard action to counterspell without having readied one previously, and pay for it later with your next turn's standard action.
What part of the rules sets a precedent for this "all involved lose a turn" houserule? Explain why it happens other than as a game balance fix.
EDIT: More on convoluted...
As written, even IF the spell negatively affected the riders along with the casters...there's no mechanical effect. Say a Wizard goes on Init 15 and a Rogue on Init 13. W takes R with him for Dim Door. The rogue can now not act until his next turn. *Initiative 13 rolls around* Hey, look at that! It's the Rogue's next turn. He can act
The only way this isn't the case is if moving with Dimension Door somehow makes it your turn. Even though every single other teleportation and movement spell in the entire game...anywhere... that moves another creature doesn't do this. And all without any explicit or implicit mention in the Dimension Door spell description that having the spell alter other people's initiative counts was even intended.
Last edited: