beaumontsebos
Adventurer
So, my players are started to get some cool mounts and the mounted combat rules have me confused a little.
Let me know if I got this straight:
If the mount is unintelligent or under the rider's control, the mount can only take dash/disengage/dodge on the rider's turn. The rider still has his/her full compliment of turns (including their own move - which would be a dismount probably).
If the mount is intelligent or not under the rider's control, the mount can do whatever it wants on it's own turn. For intelligent creatures, I take this to mean that the mount can either choose to follow the rider's wishes, or not.
Right?
So, if a PC used Find Steed, that is an intelligent creature and do whatever it wanted on it's own turn, then (which would most likely be what the rider would want because of their special relationship).
I also remember seeing somewhere that in a case where a monster has a mount, that the monster and mount act on their own turns. I forget where I saw that. Can anybody confirm?
Thanks in advance for any replies.
Let me know if I got this straight:
If the mount is unintelligent or under the rider's control, the mount can only take dash/disengage/dodge on the rider's turn. The rider still has his/her full compliment of turns (including their own move - which would be a dismount probably).
If the mount is intelligent or not under the rider's control, the mount can do whatever it wants on it's own turn. For intelligent creatures, I take this to mean that the mount can either choose to follow the rider's wishes, or not.
Right?
So, if a PC used Find Steed, that is an intelligent creature and do whatever it wanted on it's own turn, then (which would most likely be what the rider would want because of their special relationship).
I also remember seeing somewhere that in a case where a monster has a mount, that the monster and mount act on their own turns. I forget where I saw that. Can anybody confirm?
Thanks in advance for any replies.