FrogReaver
The most respectful and polite poster ever
I’m fascinated that many here come to the conclusion that rope trick is intended not to allow a short rest.
I’m fascinated that many here come to the conclusion that rope trick is intended not to allow a short rest.
Uh... what?You are ignoring the "up to" as well, though. "Up to" includes 60 feet. According to the PHB, while climbing (or swimming) each foot traveled costs two feet of movement. That means that, within the spells description, if the rope is 60 ft long, which it can be, then it would take a creature with 30 ft of movement two rounds to scale the rope, even without a skill check (15 ft movement, 15 ft dash action). So that is at least 12 seconds of time off of the specific length of the spell of 1 hour. That means that they would get to the safe space with 59 minutes and 48 seconds to rest. Again, according to the PHB, a short rest is at least 1 hour. 59 minutes and 48 seconds is not equal to 1 hour, so according to the rules as written, it would not be useable for a short rest unless the character could become immediately inside the safe space.
I have no problem ruling that the space inside of rope trick spell can be used as a short rest. Maybe that extra dimension has slightly different rules for time. However you cannot claim that by the rules as written that rope trick is designed for a short rest because everything about it denies a short rest by the nature of the spell.
Oh, I'm not sure of the intent. I would certainly House-rule that the extra-dimensional space created by the spell allows for 1 short rest due to time dilation or something similar. The timing is close enough that it would appear the intent was there, and I don't think it would ever be game-breaking. I'm just saying that as written the spell absolutely does not allow for a short rest as it takes a non-zero amount of time to enter the space and if the timing in the PHB is to be taken exactly then a short rest inside the space is impossible.
Oh, I'm not sure of the intent. I would certainly House-rule that the extra-dimensional space created by the spell allows for 1 short rest due to time dilation or something similar. The timing is close enough that it would appear the intent was there, and I don't think it would ever be game-breaking. I'm just saying that as written the spell absolutely does not allow for a short rest as it takes a non-zero amount of time to enter the space and if the timing in the PHB is to be taken exactly then a short rest inside the space is impossible.
Uh... what?
No. Just- no.
It being up to 60' means you only ever use 60' if you want a 60' rope. Again you're ignoring something: common sense. If the rope is too long for your timescale, and you don't have to use a rope of that length, don't. Use a shorter one.
I mean... what? You're arguing that the spell is designed for a Short Rest. I'm saying that by the very nature of its design it denies a short rest if you are reading the rules as written. You can houserule whatever you want, but since it takes some amount of time to get into the space, anything less than 1 hour (which is must be due to how time works) does not grant the as written requirement for a short rest. So houserule away, that perfectly fine.
It does not "deny" a short rest.
The requirements as written for a short rest cannot be met inside of the extra-dimensional space of the rope trick spell.