LordEntrails
Hero
Gummi, the proper spelling is gummigummy bears?

Gummi, the proper spelling is gummigummy bears?
Curious, why is this a "might"?The player in question is kind of bummed about this turn of events. I might let him retcon it and choose a different feat.
I don't think one should stop the player from switching feats in a case like this, but there is a bit of a RTFM situation happening here.Curious, why is this a "might"?
Why isn't this "this player was mislead into thinking a rule acted like the 2014 edition of it and really doesn't, so of course I'll let them change".
Why do you consider, "sorry, you didn't reread it but I'm going to force you to keep it for the entire campaign even though it will impact your fun since you're bummed" a valid possibility that you might do?
I know that's not the main thrust of your post, but it leapt out at me.
I agree, but I've been told for years by the company in the know that it's the same edition, so it shouldn't have traps in it.I don't think one should stop the player from switching feats in a case like this, but there is a bit of a RTFM situation happening here.
Read. The. [Dang]. Manual. People.
No you haven't. You have been told that the stuff that ISN'T yet updated should work with the new material. So you have to RTFM to know which things those are.I agree, but I've been told for years by the company in the know that it's the same edition, so it shouldn't have traps in it.
One of the PCs in a game I DM is running a PAM/Sentinel Fighter. The traditional pole arm guy with a 10 foot reach.
Bad guy approached and the Fighter made his AOO, dropping move to 0 or so I thought, as did the player. One of the other players at the table pointed out that the PAM attack when he enters reach is not an "Opportunity Attack" and therefore does not trigger the "Halt" portion of Sentinel.
After reading further we realized the new Sentinel also does not work against enemies who disengage, it only works against them if they actually take the Disengage action while standing next to you and then it works even if they don't move. As long as they take the disengage action when they are more than 5 feet away from you they don't provoke from you even if they move in and out of your reach.
The player in question is kind of bummed about this turn of events. I might let him retcon it and choose a different feat.