D&D General Interacting with Objects

Lord Twig

Adventurer
I haven't seen a good thread on exactly how the Interacting with Objects rules apply to different situations. If there is already one and I missed it, I apologize.

Here is the main rules section on Interacting with Objects:

Here are the questions I have and how I think they work.

If you want to fight with two weapons, can you use your one free interaction to draw one weapon, then take the Attack Action and draw another weapon so you can draw two weapons in one turn? If so, what is the point of the Quick Draw feature of Duel Wielder? (Other than weapon juggling cheese)

If you are a caster and take the Magic Action to cast a spell and don't have your focus in your hand, do you draw it as part of the Magic Action or do you need to use your free interaction? (This assumes not having a component pouch)

If you have a sword and shield, can you ready your shield using your free interaction and then draw your sword when you take the Attack Action?

The problem with figuring all of these out is that all of the rules are not in one place. You have to search through the book to see how everything interacts.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I was hoping someone might have already looked into this and be able to help me out, but I have done more digging and, honestly, I'm not super happy with what I found so far.

Drawing Two Weapons
I can only find equipping and unequipping weapons under the Attack action. What if you want to close on a monster by using your move and Dash, and then you want to draw a weapon? Is it impossible to draw a weapon without attacking with it?

The Utilize action isn't much help:
You normally interact with an object while doing something else, such as when you draw a sword as part of the Attack action. When an object requires an action for its use, you take the Utilize action.

I'm going to assume you can use your free interaction to draw a weapon. I would be happy to hear arguments for why this would not be the case though. :)

Arcane Focus or Magic Items
The Magic action is no help:
When you take the Magic action, you cast a spell that has a casting time of an action or use a feature or magic item that requires a Magic action to be activated.

It seems to assume that you already have the item in hand.

The rules specifically for the Spellcasting Focus is worthless:
A Spellcasting Focus is an object that certain creatures can use in place of a spell’s Material components if those materials aren’t consumed by the spell and don’t have a cost specified. Some classes allow its members to use certain types of Spellcasting Focuses. See also “Spells” (“Casting Spells”).

It does say that it can be used in place of Material components, but the specific rules for Material components says this:
A Material component is a particular material used in a spell’s casting, as specified in parentheses in the Components entry. These materials aren’t consumed by the spell unless the spell’s description states otherwise. The spellcaster must have a hand free to access them, but it can be the same hand used to perform Somatic components, if any.

If a spell doesn’t consume its materials and doesn’t specify a cost for them, a spellcaster can use a Component Pouch (see “Equipment”) instead of providing the materials specified in the spell, or the spellcaster can substitute a Spellcasting Focus if the caster has a feature that allows that substitution. To use a Component Pouch, you must have a hand free to reach into it, and to use a Spellcasting Focus, you must hold it unless its description says otherwise (see “Equipment” for descriptions).


So it says it has to be held in your hand, but it says nothing about how you get it to be in your hand. Free interaction? I guess? Or Utilize action? Even though the Utilize action says that you normally interact with something while performing a different action, but not the Magic action, apparently.

The Shield
The shield is not a weapon, so you can't equip it as part of the Attack action. I mentioned using your free interaction, but then the specific rules for shields says this:
Shields require the Utilize action to Don or Doff. You gain the Armor Class benefit of a Shield only if you have training with it.

The word "require" seems to suggest that you can't use your one free interaction per turn, you MUST use the Utilize action. This makes the sword and board more difficult to play than the two-weapon fighter. The easiest thing to do is just have one giant weapon, which really doesn't make much sense as it is actually more difficult to draw and stow one two-handed weapon than two one-handed weapons. If you have ever tried it. They don't magically hover over behind your back.

Of course magic exsists in D&D, so you could have a spell or magic item that allows giant weapons (or anything else) hover behind your back like in video games, but there is nothing in the rules that allow that right now.

Backpacks, Pouches, Bags of Holding, and Heward's Handy Haversack
Going deeper, I tried to find how long it takes to get something out of your backpack. Honestly it should take a full minute, pouches would probably be easier, but I can't find rules for them anywhere.
The backpack rules has nothing.
A Backpack holds up to 30 pounds within 1 cubic foot. It can also serve as a saddlebag.
The pouch is just as useless:
A Pouch holds up to 6 pounds within one-fifth of a cubic foot.

I looked up the Bag of Holding and found this:
Retrieving an item from the bag requires a Utilize action.

So just the Utilize action. That's pretty generous. So how about Heward's Handy Haversack?
Retrieving an item from the haversack requires a Utilize action or a Bonus Action (your choice). When you reach into the haversack for a specific item, the item is always magically on top.

That's even better; you can use a Bonus Action instead if you want. But both have the word "require" so I guess neither can be used with the one free object interaction per round rule. Why is this important?

Potions
The Potion of Healing specifically says that you can drink or administer it as a Bonus Action.
This potion is a magic item. As a Bonus Action, you can drink it or administer it to another creature within 5 feet of yourself. The creature that drinks the magical red fluid in this vial regains 2d4 + 2 Hit Points.

Other potions don't have this verbage. It just says:
When you drink this potion...

They are all magic items, and to use a magic item requires the Magic action as a general rule. The Potion of Healing's specific rule overrides this.

But either way you have to have the potion in your hand to use it. Where you are getting your Potion from seems like it would be important. (Man! It really would be convienient if these were all in one place!)

Conclusion
I think Wizards really doesn't care that much about versimilitude in this case. I realize a lot of tables are going to handwave these things and just pretend that having a bow in your hand one second and then having a sword and shield in your hand the next makes sense. Or that the Potion of Healing you need magically appears in your hand from the bottom of your backpack, even though you don't have a Heward's Handy Haversack that specifically give you the ability to draw an item as a Bonus Action. I don't accept that though, and I know some of my players don't either (not sure about all of them). That is what prompted me to look deeper into the rules and make this post.

For people like me that grew up reading fantasy books and picturing battles in my head I want rules that I can visualize. Otherwise it is like the infinite bullets in six-shooters that movies that people joke about. I have already discarded the "draw or stow one weapon per attack" rule. Now it looks like I am probably going to overhaul all of the rules for manipulating equipment during battles.
 

I'm pretty sure this whole discussion is based off of one key misunderstanding, and using that to make a very simple process very complicated.

Here's the key statement, taken from the SRD*:

Interacting with Things. You can interact with one object or feature of the environment for free, during either your move or action.

You seem to have interpreted this is as: You can interact with one object for free during each move or action. That's wrong. You get one free interaction. When this action takes place is: during your more or action. The comma is very critical.

The next line in the SRD clarifies this further:

If you want to interact with a second object, you need to take the Utilize** action. Some magic items and other special objects always require an action to use, as stated in their descriptions.

You don't get another free interaction if you take another move or action. After the one free interaction, each additional interaction is going to cost you an action.

So, going from there:

If you want to fight with two weapons, can you use your one free interaction to draw one weapon, then take the Attack Action and draw another weapon so you can draw two weapons in one turn? If so, what is the point of the Quick Draw feature of Duel Wielder? (Other than weapon juggling cheese)

Without Quick Draw, you can only draw one weapon, then take the attack action. You cannot draw second weapon for free. The Quick Draw feat gives you the ability to draw a second weapon for free. There are other similar feats.

If you are a caster and take the Magic Action to cast a spell and don't have your focus in your hand, do you draw it as part of the Magic Action or do you need to use your free interaction? (This assumes not having a component pouch)

You could use your one free interaction to draw the focus if it's not in hand. This could take place during the casting or a move (or even on a turn when you don't cast).

If you have a sword and shield, can you ready your shield using your free interaction and then draw your sword when you take the Attack Action?

You can draw your either your sword or your shield for free. One. Not both. Donning the shield is an additional action.

*Edit: Note that this was taken from the 2024 SRD 5.2. The 2014 SRD is almost identical, but IMNSHO a little bit clearer:

You can also interact with one object or feature of the environment for free, during either your move or your action. For example, you could open a door during your move as you stride toward a foe, or you could draw your weapon as part of the same action you use to attack.

If you want to interact with a second object, you need to use your action. Some magic items and other special objects always require an action to use, as stated in their descriptions.

**
Pet Peeve. "Utilize" is a garbage word that should never be used. It literally means the exact same thing as "Use". It adds no function, clarification, or anything else. Always say "Use" instead of "Utilize". If you decide to not use the 2024 rules for no other reason than because of this abhorrent verbiage, I will stand by you until our books turn to dust.
 
Last edited:

I'm pretty sure this whole discussion is based off of one key misunderstanding, and using that to make a very simple process very complicated.

Here's the key statement, taken from the SRD*:

Interacting with Things. You can interact with one object or feature of the environment for free, during either your move or action.

You seem to have interpreted this is as: You can interact with one object for free during each move or action. That's wrong. You get one free interaction. When this action takes place is: during your more or action. The comma is very critical.
No, I didn't think you get one free interaction for you move AND your action. I understand that you only get one per turn. So if you move you can open a door as your free object interaction. And that's it. You have used your free interaction... But then you take the Attack action. The Attack action specifically says that you can equip or unequip a weapon.

Equipping and Unequipping Weapons. You can either equip or unequip one weapon when you make an attack as part of this action.

The way I read this it is separate from the one free object interaction per turn. No where does it say that this uses the free interaction you get or that it prevents you from using the free interaction with an object that is laid out in the Interacting with Things rule. Looking at what you included from 2014 I believe that your interpretation might be a holdover from the 2014 rules that no longer applies. I could be wrong, but it looks to me like it has changed.
The next line in the SRD clarifies this further:

If you want to interact with a second object, you need to take the Utilize** action. Some magic items and other special objects always require an action to use, as stated in their descriptions.

You don't get another free interaction if you take another move or action. After the one free interaction, each additional interaction is going to cost you an action.
Yes. I understand this.
So, going from there:



Without Quick Draw, you can only draw one weapon, then take the attack action. You cannot draw second weapon for free. The Quick Draw feat gives you the ability to draw a second weapon for free. There are other similar feats.
The way I read it if you have the Dual Wielder feat you can open a door during your move, then draw two swords when you take the Attack action and make an attack. Then if you have a second attack you can stow both weapons after you attack and free your hands again. For example.
You would use your one free interaction to draw the focus if it's not in hand. This could take place during the casting or a move (or even on a turn when you don't cast).
We agree here. Since the Magic action (and the Material component rules) do not allow you to equip a focus as part of that action, you must use the Interacting with Things rule that allows you to interact with one object or feature.
You can draw your sword or your shield. One. Not both. Donning the shield is an additional action.
Here I disagree. First, you don't "draw" a shield at all. You either Don or Doff, as you said in your last sentence. And the rule for shields specifically says that it requires the Utilze action to do so. Techincally you don't draw weapons either, but if you were also able to take the Attack action, like if you were Hasted, you could then equip or unequip one weapon for each attack in addition to Donning your shield with the Utilize action. (Probably want to use the Hasted action to Don the shield and your regular action for the Attack action. :) )
*Edit: Note that this was taken from the 2024 SRD 5.2. The 2014 SRD is almost identical, but IMNSHO a little bit clearer:

You can also interact with one object or feature of the environment for free, during either your move or your action. For example, you could open a door during your move as you stride toward a foe, or you could draw your weapon as part of the same action you use to attack.

If you want to interact with a second object, you need to use your action. Some magic items and other special objects always require an action to use, as stated in their descriptions.
And here is where I think the confusion is. This is from the old rules. The new rules removes the "draw your weapon as part of the same action you use to attack" example. And I think it was intentional and done for a very good reason. They added the equipping and unequipping rules to the Attack action. Overall, the 2024 rules are much more forgiving on what they allow you to do.

Thanks for the response! This is exactly the type of feedback I was looking for. I am reading the rules, going back and forth between all of the different places that the action economy is spread across, and it seems almost impossible that I didn't miss something.
** Pet Peeve. "Utilize" is a garbage word that should never be used. It literally means the exact same thing as "Use". It adds no function, clarification, or anything else. Always say "Use" instead of "Utilize". If you decide to not use the 2024 rules for no other reason than because of this abhorrent verbiage, I will stand by you until our books turn to dust.
I respect this. It used to be called Use an Object. They could have stuck with that or just shortened it to Use.
 

No, I didn't think you get one free interaction for you move AND your action. I understand that you only get one per turn. So if you move you can open a door as your free object interaction. And that's it. You have used your free interaction... But then you take the Attack action. The Attack action specifically says that you can equip or unequip a weapon.

Equipping and Unequipping Weapons. You can either equip or unequip one weapon when you make an attack as part of this action.

There's another very simple explanation for this. Equipping and unequipping is not the same as drawing or sheathing a weapon. It is holding it in a specific way to be ready for combat.

Drawing a weapon is the act of retrieving it from a sheath, bag, table or similar form of storage where it is not held in the hand. Most of the time, it can be assumed that drawing the weapon also equips it for combat. However, it is also possible to be holding a weapon but not have it equipped. Like holding a quarterstaff as a walking stick, or holding a whip as a loop rather than by the handle. The verbiage you quoted allows for handling of those situations without expending a character's normal free item interaction.

This is exactly analogous to how you can draw and hold a shield without donning it. You can pick it up or take it out of a bag, but you'll be holding it by the edge or some other fashion until you take the action to strap it to your arm or otherwise affix it for protection. But in that case, the donning takes a full action, where equipping can be done for free with a weapon as part of an attack. Likewise, you can quickly pull a suit of plate armor out of a bag and hold it, but it will take even longer to equip that.

If you want to try and get more rules lawer-y about this, go ahead. I appreciate a good bout of pedantics. But it's worth noting the interpretation that equipping and drawing are equivalent has lead to a page full of questions, broken feats, complexities, and loopholes. If you want to argue that I'm wrong, you'll have to find another way to resolve all of those issues. IMNSHO, my explanation is not only correct, it is elegant in its explanation to the larger discussion.

Finally, it's worth noting that AFAIK the language about equipping you quoted is currently only in the 5e 2024 books, not the SRD (yet?). Take that to mean what you will. IMNSHO, it's expected for the books to have information that details things beyond the SRD. But an interpretation of 5e rules that creates conflict with what would be assumed accurate when using only SRD text is another indication that said interpretation is likely flawed.
 

I'm not interested in a pedantic argument. I do appreciate your perspective and interpretation. Honestly, I don't want to be overly strict with the rules, but I like to understand what the rules actually are before I break or houserule them.

If nothing else I will use this post as a reference for myself, and hopefully it will be useful to others as well.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top