Correct because they don't have the Crossbow Expert feat they would indeed need a free hand to load an ammunition. It's even the reason why the second example needs the character to unequip the first Hand Crossbow.
It packs a lot of goodies for the pricetag, clearly a different way than we're used to for Starter Set, usually coming at lower price range. Its more of a Starter Box Set feel :)
The Free Item Interaction let you interact with one object or feature of the environment for free, during either your move or action. And Weapons are objects. So you can interact with one weapon for free during a move or action. This general rule is in addition to specific rules such as the...
It isn't specified by the feat so your guess is as good as mine :)
I could easily picture a Crossbow Expert putting the crossbow between it's legs or under an arm, reload with the hand before picking it up again.
As UngeheuerLich say, a non Crossbow Expert can still attack 2+ on a turn with a Loading weapon, for exemple attacking with a Hand Crossbow, and then attacking again with another Action such as Action Surge.
Likewise, a non Crossbow Expert can attack with a Hand Crossbow, unequip it, use a Free...
Yes, but only if you make a ranged attack. For melee attack, the Attack Action can also let you equip it before the attack as well.
If the extra attack of the Light property is a Dagger melee attack as a Bonus Action, then the Free Item Interaction would be needed to draw it before attacking...
Of course wielding a Hand Crossbow and a Dagger means you can't draw an ammunition and fire it as you need a free hand to load it first unless you have the Crossbow Expert feat, which isn't the OP case, meaning it must draw the Dagger after attacking with the Hand Crossbow.
When a creature takes the Attack Action and attack with a Hand Crossbow, it can now make the extra attack of the Light property with a different Light weapon, as a Bonus Action, or as part of the Attack Action instead if it has Nick Weapon Mastery.
The extra attack of the Light property and the extra attack of Dual Wielder feat are different.
While both uses the same ressource to make them, they can mutually be used when Nick mastery shift the extra attack of the Light property as part of the Attack action instead of a Bonus Action.
I don't see any way to read as ever making more than one extra attack of the Light property, with or without Nick mastery, it's the same done as part of the Attack action instead of a Bonus Action, and is limited to once per turn wether it does or not.
I also think it's possible to equip and...