It isn't. They're different.
If I shoot my bow three times as part of a Full Attack action, I'm shooting with a ranged weapon, but I'm not taking the Attack (ranged) action. If p8 was the only rule we had, I wouldn't provoke any AoO, because the Full Attack action does not provoke.
The three...
p16 doesn't comment on whether or not the Attack (Ranged) action provokes an AoO. It does state that shooting a ranged weapon provokes an AoO.
p47 doesn't comment on whether or not the Push/Pull Heavy Object action provokes an AoO.
Since "take the Attack (Ranged) action" and "shoot a ranged...
RC p8 notes in the table that pushing or pulling a heavy object provokes an AoO. It also directs us to p47 for further details.
p47 doesn't say that pushing or pulling a heavy object provokes an AoO. Does this mean that the table is wrong, and pushing or pulling a heavy object doesn't provoke...
RC16, PHB135, PHB137 say attacking with a ranged weapon provokes.
RC8 and PHB141 say the Attack (Ranged) action provokes.
PHB135 says making a ranged attack provokes.
You're saying RC8 is right, and anywhere that says anything different to RC8 is wrong. I'm saying RC8 is right, and anywhere...
Right, but it says "Roll randomly to determine..."
If we say "There's a 50% chance of hitting the halfling, and a 50% chance of hitting the dragon", that's rolling randomly.
If we say "There's a 10% chance of hitting the halfling, and a 90% chance of hitting the dragon", that's still rolling...
But it's only necessary to consider general vs specific when there's a contradiction.
There's a similar question in 4E, where in one place it says "Making a ranged attack provokes", and in two places it says "Using a ranged power provokes". You can use a ranged power that doesn't entail making...
The only 'specific' case is that the Attack Action (Ranged) provokes an AoO (p141).
The only mentions of an attack with a ranged weapon provoking are as an example of a distracting act (p137), or as an example of actions that provoke (p135). While they're given as examples, there's nowhere in...
There are a few things wrong with this.
1. Spring Attack does require a move action, but the wording in the PHB is incorrect. It was corrected in the Special Edition PHB - it now says "When using the attack action with a melee weapon, you can split your move action..." rather than "you can...
The full attack action does not provoke.
The attack (ranged) standard action provokes, but the bowman is not taking the attack (ranged) standard action; he is taking the full attack action.
However, as part of the full attack action, the bowman attacks with a ranged weapon on two separate...
Personally, I'd have people act in order of initiative modifier, since that's the rule for breaking ties when people have the same initiative result - effectively, simultaneously-triggering actions are a similar circumstance.
CustServ's answer to a similar question was that when multiple...
Not necessarily true.
PHB p268, Immediate Reaction: An immediate reaction might interrupt other actions a combatant takes after its triggering action. For example, if a power lets you attack as an immediate reaction when an attack hits you, your action happens before the monster that hit you...
The house didn't disappear; the dragon moved. See the puddle and the path? The frame is just zoomed in on that corner of the yard - the house is out of frame to the rear of the dragon.
-Hyp.
No - higher than a 9. 10 or higher.
There can be. Elite and Solo monsters get bonuses to saving throws. There's a human racial feat that grants a +1 to saving throws. Races get bonuses to certain specific saving throws. Certain powers grant a saving throw to an ally and provide a bonus on...