2-bladed sword enchantments

kengar

First Post
I know that -when enchanting a double weapon- you have to enchant each "end" separately, but how does this relate to things like the weapon's total "+ __ equivalent" and the cost of further enchantments?

For instance, suppose the PC has his MW 2-bladed sword enchanted to +1/+1. Is that a +2 equiv when calculating costs or is it two +1's? Also, what about enchantments like Throwing or Returning? It doesn't affect one side v. the other, so do you need to enchant each end for that or will once on the whole weapon do?

Question stemmed from this thread.
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

Well, I found part of my answer in the DMG. (duhhhh! :o ). It says to treat the two 'heads' as separate in terms of "cost, time, XP, and special abilities." But that still doesn't tell me how to handle thnigs like Throwing and Returning. Any thoughts on that?
 

Heh, I thought about the same question when I posted that comment.

Since the weapon can only attack with one head when you throw it, I'd allow just one of the heads to be so enchanted for it to work.

Now if you want to have both heads attack when you throw the weapon, enchant both heads, and treat it as a double weapon attack at -2 to both.

Damn, that would be pretty cool, but expensive for a limited benefit.
 

considering you're paying thru the nose as it is, I'd let an enchantment like that apply to the whole weapon ...

actually if you throw it (and it returns) you're only hitting with one end anyway, right? ... so only the head that has the enchantment would work, my 3cp anyway.
 

Wolf72 said:
considering you're paying thru the nose as it is, I'd let an enchantment like that apply to the whole weapon ...

actually if you throw it (and it returns) you're only hitting with one end anyway, right? ... so only the head that has the enchantment would work, my 3cp anyway.

That was my thought as well. I just didn't know if there was an official ruling on that anywhere.

I suppose that I would have to make the Throwing and/or Returning count against towards the cost of further enchantments for either end though. i.e. One blade is +1 Keen, the other is +1 Flame. The Throwing enchantment would cost as though bringing a +2 weapon up to +3 and both ends would then be considered "+3 equivalent."

Make sense?? :confused:
 
Last edited:

Wolf72 said:
actually if you throw it (and it returns) you're only hitting with one end anyway, right? ... so only the head that has the enchantment would work, my 3cp anyway.

Right. There wouldn't be much reason to put it on both heads unless you had different special abilities on either head - for instance, one is frost and one is flame - and you wanted to be able to throw and hit with either.

J
 

There wouldn't be much reason to put it on both heads unless you had different special abilities on either head - for instance, one is frost and one is flame - and you wanted to be able to throw and hit with either.

I see where you guys are going with this. I guess that makes sense too.
 



Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top