3.0: Can Trigger Power work with the Hide Power feat?

evileeyore

Mrrrph
My question above:

Can the Trigger Power feat allow you to Trigger a power with the Hide Power feat effecting it?

The rules in the SRD don't seem to indicate either way. Seems to me as long as you have the power reserve there shouldn't be any problem outside of possibly ethical ones.

I am not sure if this falls outside the spirit of the rules.

Also if this has been debated at lentgh previously, could you provide a link. I can not yet search.

Thank you

--EvilE--
 

log in or register to remove this ad

The Sage says yes.

BRC says no.

It's up to you to decide.

And yes it has, but honestly I don't recall the link (And it was on WotC boards).

[ Add ]
By RAW, it's arguable.

The line where it says that powers affected by metapsionic feats are treated as 'higher level power' can be interpreted to only be in reference to item creation and not universally.

I'd personally lean towards each metapsionic feat increasing the power's level (but not DC etc, ie, behave like metamagic feats) for trigger power, item creation, and for insertion into a power storing item.
 
Last edited:

evileeyore said:
My question above:

Can the Trigger Power feat allow you to Trigger a power with the Hide Power feat effecting it?

The rules in the SRD don't seem to indicate either way. Seems to me as long as you have the power reserve there shouldn't be any problem outside of possibly ethical ones.

I am not sure if this falls outside the spirit of the rules.

Also if this has been debated at lentgh previously, could you provide a link. I can not yet search.

Thank you

--EvilE--

Unfortunately Trigger Power is unclear on many things. Hopefully in about two weeks it will all be clarified.
 

Well I don't think the 3.5 will help me as hopefully by then I'll be playing... In a 3.0(3.5 D&D rules) Dark Sun campaign. Of course we might do a convert...

The 3.0 DS PDF seems to support my hypothesis by siting an example where trigger power is used on a Power-Scaled Maximized Whitefire, and the manefester only pays for the power Scaling (unless the Trigger check fails).

I'll check with the DM (which I would have done anyway), I was just hoping to finish the character without resorting to that*.

--EvilE--

*If the answer had been 'The Sage says no, the X says no, we all say no', then I would have dropped it without bothering to await the DM's decision...
 

We all say no. For the sake of game balance, just say no.

In any event I wouldn't use the SRD as a guide; right now it has a few 3.5 rules (which is usually good but not when it doesn't identify which ones are 3.5).

For instance, in 3.0 there is no power scaling, and Trigger Power was not written with power scaling in mind. I don't know who wrote the SRD's new Trigger Power but I doubt it was Bruce Cordell. Allowing Trigger Power to work with power scaling is just a bad idea IMO.
 

Remove ads

Top