D&D 3E/3.5 [3.5] Native Outsiders & Banishment

Ao the Overkitty

First Post
Had an issue brought up at the table last night and I'd like a clarification, since we couldn't come to an agreement.

In the FRCS, pg 18, it says, "Spells and effects that target extraplanar creatures may affect planetouched creatures....A spell that drives outsiders back to their home planes does not affect planetouched characters, but Banishment - a spell that removes an outsider from the caster's planewithout specifying a return to the outsider's home plane - would work fine."

Now, a player (who also GMs) was arguing that this has changed with 3.5, arguing that native outsiders are no longer extraplanar, and therefore cannot be banished. In 3.0, I could find no record anywhere specifically saying native outsiders were extraplanar, besides the fact that they were outsiders. FRCS was the only place I found that dealt with the issue of what could affect a native outsider at all, and that says they're treated like extraplanar for the purposes of these spells.

Now, in 3.5, there are native subtypes and extraplanar subtypes to Outsiders, but no update to this rule on banishment like spells being used on native outsiders. I'm guessing this would show up in the FR Players guide due out next year, but can anyone shed a light on this?

I would think that the rule from the FRCS would hold. Am I wrong?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Ao the Overkitty said:
Now, a player (who also GMs) was arguing that this has changed with 3.5, arguing that native outsiders are no longer extraplanar, and therefore cannot be banished.

If they are on their home plane, which would be the Prime Material Plane, then they do not have the extraplanar subtype. If they are not on their home plane, they gain the extraplanar subtype and are subject to banishment. The extraplanar subtype is detailed in the 3.5 MM.
 
Last edited:

Banishment affected extraplanar creatures (not outsiders) in 3e as well. As far as I can tell, that was either a rules error in the FRCS in the first place, or a poorly-designed rule if it were intentional (why should somebody be treated as "extraplanar" when they're not, unless it's because the DM/designer is confused about the difference between extraplanar creatures and outsiders for some reason).
 

Remove ads

Top