D&D 3E/3.5 3.5 Sorcerer Nerf?

Felonius

First Post
Hi all,

I cannot find where in 3.5 PHB or SRD it says, that a sorcerer can use a higher level spell slot to cast a lower level spell.

Was this ability removed in 3.5 or am I just blind? :cool:

If it *was* removed, why do you think it was done? What was the abuse?

- F
 

log in or register to remove this ad

PHB p.170, Choosing a Spell: "First you must choose which spell to cast...If you're a bard or sorcerer, you can select any spell you know, provided you are capable of casting spells of that level or higher."

Boy, in the 3.5 PHB they sure know how to tuck these little rules bits away don't they?
 
Last edited:

well! one'd say that's obvious. not only for sorcerers but for every single (spontaneous) spellcasting class out there.
At least that's what we do in our campaign.
 
Last edited:


Took me a little while, but I found it, for both arcanists and divines:

For arcanes (PHB p.178):

Spell Slots: [...] However, the character could choose to prepare three 3rd level spells instead, filling the 4th-level slot with a 3rd-level spell.

For divines (PHB p.180):

Spell Slots: [...] A spellcaster always has the option to fill a higher-level spell slot with a lower-level spell.
 

Liquidsabre said:
PHB p.170, Choosing a Spell: "First you must choose which spell to cast...If you're a bard or sorcerer, you can select any spell you know, provided you are capable of casting spells of that level or higher."
The above sentence doesn't clearly allow it and might just describe spellcasting in general...

In 3.0 SRD it's clearly pointed out in the sorcerer description, but the paragraph is missing in 3.5.

Instead 3.5 SRD says:
"Unlike a wizard or a cleric, a sorcerer need not prepare his spells in advance. He can cast any spell he knows at any time, assuming he has not yet used up his spells per day for that spell level."
(emphasis mine)

Liquidsabre said:
Boy, in the 3.5 PHB they sure know how to tuck these little rules bits away don't they?
At least it's better than 3.0. Rules for two-weapon fighting in crossbow entry, anyone? ;)

- F
 

Trainz said:
Took me a little while, but I found it, for both arcanists and divines:

For arcanes (PHB p.178):
Spell Slots: [...] However, the character could choose to prepare three 3rd level spells instead, filling the 4th-level slot with a 3rd-level spell.

For divines (PHB p.180):
Spell Slots: [...] A spellcaster always has the option to fill a higher-level spell slot with a lower-level spell.
But Sorcerer does not prepare spells and is not a divine caster... :confused:

- F
 

Felonius said:
But Sorcerer does not prepare spells and is not a divine caster... :confused:

- F

Although it IS in the divine section, reread the phrase:

A spellcaster always has the option to fill a higher-level spell slot with a lower-level spell.

A spellcaster. Last I looked, a sorceror is a spellcaster.
 

Trainz said:
Although it IS in the divine section, reread the phrase:

A spellcaster always has the option to fill a higher-level spell slot with a lower-level spell.

A spellcaster. Last I looked, a sorceror is a spellcaster.
I think divine casting is just not repeated here, as the heading (in SRD) is "Preparing Divine Spells". Arcane Spells have the same sentence under "Preparing Wizard Spells".

Divine casters are not singled out like Wizards, because there are no spontaneous divine casters and only Wizards prepare arcane spells in PHB.

Sorcerers and Bards get their own section on the same heading level but this option is not mentioned there.

- F
 

Felonius said:
I think divine casting is just not repeated here, as the heading (in SRD) is "Preparing Divine Spells". Arcane Spells have the same sentence under "Preparing Wizard Spells".

Divine casters are not singled out like Wizards, because there are no spontaneous divine casters and only Wizards prepare arcane spells in PHB.

Sorcerers and Bards get their own section on the same heading level but this option is not mentioned there.

- F

So ?

Do what you want, but I'm telling you, they can. All spellcasters can.

Forget the SRD, it's in the PHB. Under arcanists and divines. They might not have listed every spellcasting class by name, but it's there.

I don't get you. Your original post seems to complain that sorcerors can't do it under 3.5, then I tell you they can, but instead of jumping with joy and renewed bliss at then news, you keep denying it.

What is it exactly that you want ?
 

Remove ads

Top