D&D 4E 4e Coup de Grace

Family

First Post
If our wizard has successfully put a 10'x10' Blue Slime to sleep...

I understand my Dwarf Fighter can perform a Coup de Grace on it.

My undestanding is that Coups do maximum weapon damage, so ~45 damage if I use brute strike in this case.

Q: Can I the spend an action point do do another Coup de Grace using a different attack (crusing blow for example) and do max damage AGAIN (~34 in this case)?

Q: If while the Blue Slime is sleeping our party surrounds it and they all READY an action to attack immediately after I do could they be Coup de Graces?

Q: If so can they then spend their action points to perform ANOTHER Coupe de Grace each?

The 4e BAR test is now on, aspiring rule lawers wanted ;)
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

Family said:
Q: If while the Blue slime is sleeping our party surrounds it and they all READY an action to attack immediately after I do would they be considered Coup de Graces?

What conditions need to be met to coup de grâce in 4e? Wouldn't they all meet those conditions if they surrounded a helpless opponent? Seems straight forward, regardless whether it's a readied action or not.
 

Is there anything under the sleep spell that says unconscious creatures wake up when damaged?

Is there a difference between Unconscious and simple sleep?

You'll need to find the answer to those before your question can be answered.
 


I know I'm breaking a huge rule here but 3.5 SRD states "wounding awakens a [creature from a magically enduced sleep]". So let's go with that.

And the "theoretical" creature I'm using in this case is not immune to sleep :D
 
Last edited:

If you can only coup de gras a sleeping creature, and a creature wakes up from sleep upon being wounded then only one coup de gras can ever be performed.
 

FadedC said:
If you can only coup de gras a sleeping creature, and a creature wakes up from sleep upon being wounded then only one coup de gras can ever be performed.

Darn...my group is sooo dead. Thanks.
 

But that's not true in 4e. Making the save wakes you up. Taking damage does not. I saw this multiple times at DDXP; you can wail away on a sleeping critter (yes, even a slime or a skeleton), dealing automatic crits every time, until it makes the save and wakes up.
 


MindWanderer said:
But that's not true in 4e. Making the save wakes you up. Taking damage does not. I saw this multiple times at DDXP; you can wail away on a sleeping critter (yes, even a slime or a skeleton), dealing automatic crits every time, until it makes the save and wakes up.

WOOT! Victory! (Seriously the whole crew down here at the FLGS is chearing right now)! :)
 

Remove ads

Top