D&D 4E 4e FAQ


log in or register to remove this ad

Cleave Question

A fighter can hit two opponents with his Cleave power. Any target he attacks (hit or miss) he can mark with his Combat Opportunist ability. If he uses his Cleave power can he mark both of the targets or only the one he rolls the attack against?
 


brehobit said:
If anyone can proposed short answers to the unanswered questions on the FAQ (ideally with a format similar to what I have so far) that would be great!

In 4E we pay for the Item Level and not Material.

If on the table the armor states it needs a minimum enhancement bonus of +4 then it's an item that ranges from Level 16 to 20. (although it could have an enhancement of +5 or even +6).

This means that a Leather armor +4 costs exactly the same as a Feyleather armor +4 (because they're both level 16), even though they offer different armor bonus.

(This is as short as i can make it.)
 
Last edited:

Tenebras said:
A fighter can hit two opponents with his Cleave power. Any target he attacks (hit or miss) he can mark with his Combat Opportunist ability. If he uses his Cleave power can he mark both of the targets or only the one he rolls the attack against?

In order to Mark a given target you first need to Attack it. When you use Cleave you're not making an attack against it, you're simply damaging it.
 

Gloombunny said:
No. Only the weapon dice count as [W]. Bonuses from race, feats, items, enhancements, powers, etc are separate and don't get multiplied. (PHB, p. 276)
And the bonus from versatile? I'm assuming it doesn't count as weapon dice.
 


The Monster Manual entry states that Demons are completely fearless, and act only out of a desire to destroy, that they don't even have a self-preservation instinct. In what is I believe the very next paragraph, it states that Balors cow other demons into working for them because those lesser demons are afraid of being killed by the Balor.

Somebody want to clear up that apparent conflict? Because I find it sort of irritating at the moment.
 

Zsig said:
In 4E we pay for the Item Level and not Material.

If on the table the armor states it needs a minimum enhancement bonus of +4 then it's an item that ranges from Level 16 to 20. (although it could have an enhancement of +5 or even +6).

This means that a Leather armor +4 costs exactly the same as a Feyleather armor +4 (because they're both level 16), even though they offer different armor bonus.

(This is as short as i can make it.)

I think you are wrong here, but not sure...

I think that if you have +4 leather, you really have +4 Feyleather, so the actually armor bonus is +6 (+2 for feyleather, +4 for magic). You could in theory have real +4 leather (+5 total), but as the upgrade to feyleather is free, that would be odd.
 

brehobit said:
I think you are wrong here, but not sure...

I think that if you have +4 leather, you really have +4 Feyleather, so the actually armor bonus is +6 (+2 for feyleather, +4 for magic). You could in theory have real +4 leather (+5 total), but as the upgrade to feyleather is free, that would be odd.

No, leather does not just transform into feyleather. Feyleather is a completely separate material from normal leather, and by it's nature is both more durable (+1 base AC bonus) and unable to be affected by weaker enchantments (thus why it requires a minimum of a +4 enhancement bonus).
 

Remove ads

Top