A 4e DND Newbie GM Log

Sergeytov

First Post
My first post, so I hope this is in the right place for this kind of thing, but I figure keeping a log like this might be of use/interest to someone.

Also, a confession. I'm not wholly a newbie GM. I've ran MUD/MUSH based roleplaying action for quite several years, and ran a tabletop in the past. What I'm new to is running DND4e on a regular basis.

Right now I'm teaching my players the basic rules of how to play, helping them set up characters, and generally diving headlong into things. I modified the Loudwater segment of the FR Campaign Guide a bit as a starting point. The major difference is that I'm throwing in a young brown dragon at the end of the Tomb of the Ogre King (a low level basic dungeon environ).

My players are 14-17 years old (a much younger sibling and his friends).

My immediate concern is that I have one player who's constantly trying to make extra money/take anything not bolted down (the rogue, no less). No, wait, I'm not even sure bolting things down would work. The other players are split, I suspect they're bored of his hijinks, however. Trying to convince him that he'll get richer much quicker if he does the adventuring thing rather than trying to scam/loot a small town.

Right now I'm largely running the game as a series of tactical encounters linked by a (weak) story. I'm hoping to try and incorporate more role playing elements soon. My goal is to try and bring them into a storyline about the Zhents and Cyric's imprisonment, but I suspect that it will take several sessions before I get the chance.

My players sound enthused and are having fun, overall, from what they tell me, so I shouldn't complain too much about the little details.

Sergeytov

First Post
Been looking around these forums (and elsewhere) for various resources. I have to say there looks to be a lot of good stuff.

I've been playing with a combination of stuff right now, mostly for monster making.