A bit confused about the Archmage's Spell-Like Abilities...

UltimaGabe

First Post
Hey, everyone. I'm making an 18th-level Transmuter Archmage, and I had a couple questions.

1. What does it cost, exactly? The wording is quite confusing. It states that it costs a 5th-level slot, but no other cost is actually said. It's implied, of course, that it also costs one spell slot of the level of the spell you're making into an SLA- but it's not actually spelled out in any clear terms. Let's say I wanted to make Horrid Wilting an SLA. Would it cost one 5th-level slot, one 5th-level slot and one 8th-level slot, or something else?

2. Is there any limit to what level you can make it? I mean, does it have to be lower than your maximum spell level? Or could you, if you were 17th level or higher, make 9th-level spells into SLAs?

3. Once again, it's implied, but not actually said in clear terms- can you switch your SLA around? Meaning, like, could you have Fireball as an SLA one day, and then switch it for Fly some other day? I'm assuming not, but again, it's not too clear.

Any help would be most appreciated.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

UltimaGabe said:
Hey, everyone. I'm making an 18th-level Transmuter Archmage, and I had a couple questions.

1. What does it cost, exactly? The wording is quite confusing. It states that it costs a 5th-level slot, but no other cost is actually said. It's implied, of course, that it also costs one spell slot of the level of the spell you're making into an SLA- but it's not actually spelled out in any clear terms. Let's say I wanted to make Horrid Wilting an SLA. Would it cost one 5th-level slot, one 5th-level slot and one 8th-level slot, or something else?

2. Is there any limit to what level you can make it? I mean, does it have to be lower than your maximum spell level? Or could you, if you were 17th level or higher, make 9th-level spells into SLAs?

3. Once again, it's implied, but not actually said in clear terms- can you switch your SLA around? Meaning, like, could you have Fireball as an SLA one day, and then switch it for Fly some other day? I'm assuming not, but again, it's not too clear.

Any help would be most appreciated.


1. It costs one 5th level slot to getthe ability, plus the slots to pay for the specific spell. So if you get horrid wilting it is a 5th and an 8th to cast the spell twice per day. If you wre epic with Improved spell capacity, giving up a 5th and an 11th level slot would let you cast the spell four times per day.

2. The only limit is you have to have spell slots of that level to spend.

3. No you cannot switch the SLA. You are permenantly giving up slots, not for that day.
 


UltimaGabe said:
1. What does it cost, exactly? The wording is quite confusing. It states that it costs a 5th-level slot, but no other cost is actually said. It's implied, of course, that it also costs one spell slot of the level of the spell you're making into an SLA- but it's not actually spelled out in any clear terms. Let's say I wanted to make Horrid Wilting an SLA. Would it cost one 5th-level slot, one 5th-level slot and one 8th-level slot, or something else?

You have the right of it. Horrid Wilting would take up a 5th level slot and an 8th level slot.

UltimaGabe said:
2. Is there any limit to what level you can make it? I mean, does it have to be lower than your maximum spell level? Or could you, if you were 17th level or higher, make 9th-level spells into SLAs?

No, no spell level limit.

UltimaGabe said:
3. Once again, it's implied, but not actually said in clear terms- can you switch your SLA around? Meaning, like, could you have Fireball as an SLA one day, and then switch it for Fly some other day? I'm assuming not, but again, it's not too clear.

Sine it uses the word permanently I would rule that to say that once the SLA is chosen, it cannot be changed.


SRD said:
Spell-Like Ability
An archmage who selects this type of high arcana can use one of her arcane spell slots (other than a slot expended to learn this or any other type of high arcana) to permanently prepare one of her arcane spells as a spell-like ability that can be used twice per day. The archmage does not use any components when casting the spell, although a spell that costs XP to cast still does so and a spell with a costly material component instead costs her 10 times that amount in XP. This ability costs one 5th-level spell slot.

The spell-like ability normally uses a spell slot of the spell’s level, although the archmage can choose to make a spell modified by a metamagic feat into a spell-like ability at the appropriate spell level.

The archmage may use an available higher-level spell slot in order to use the spell-like ability more often. Using a slot three levels higher than the chosen spell allows her to use the spell-like ability four times per day, and a slot six levels higher lets her use it six times per day.

If spell-like ability is selected more than one time as a high arcana choice, this ability can apply to the same spell chosen the first time (increasing the number of times per day it can be used) or to a different spell.


Edit: I hate getting beat to the post!:D
 

SRD said:
Spell-Like Ability: An archmage who selects this type of high arcana can use one of her arcane spell slots (other than a slot expended to learn this or any other type of high arcana) to permanently prepare one of her arcane spells as a spell-like ability that can be used twice per day. The archmage does not use any components when casting the spell, although a spell that costs XP to cast still does so and a spell with a costly material component instead costs her 10 times that amount in XP. This ability costs one 5th-level spell slot.
The spell-like ability normally uses a spell slot of the spell’s level, although the archmage can choose to make a spell modified by a metamagic feat into a spell-like ability at the appropriate spell level.
The archmage may use an available higher-level spell slot in order to use the spell-like ability more often. Using a slot three levels higher than the chosen spell allows her to use the spell-like ability four times per day, and a slot six levels higher lets her use it six times per day.
If spell-like ability is selected more than one time as a high arcana choice, this ability can apply to the same spell chosen the first time (increasing the number of times per day it can be used) or to a different spell.

So the answers would seem to be as follows:

1 - 5th and 8th.
2 - Yes. It sounds good, but it's permanently fixed.
3 - No, you can't swap them around.
 

I don´t like this ability in my group, the motive is that you loose a 5th level slot and a 9th level slot to get 2 energy drain per day, so, a 5 and a 9 level for TWO 9 level. To the sorcerer this is great, and with spell that doesn´t need bypass RM ou have saves is wonderful. I think this is a overpowered ability.
 


Remove ads

Top